Community News
D
2017-07-17
D
The community honors 5 personalities of the national education, for their end of career!

On Thursday 13 July 2017, President Daniel GIBBS and Vice-President Annick PETRUS paid tribute to 5 personalities of the National Education, on their retirement. Having worked for the entire community, these 5 celebrities recognized and appreciated in Saint-Martin received a present from the community in honor of their journey in the service of the general interest.

At a cocktail reception hosted by the community of Saint-Martin at Sandy Ground MJC, Nadine DUCROCQ, Professor of Plastic Arts, Josseline PRUDENT, Director of Nina DUVERLY School and Louis FLEMING, Counselor Pedagogical Advisor In EPS, Daniel GUMBS, Principal of the Collège de Quartier d'Orléans and Frantz GUMBS, Principal of the Robert WEINUM School Hall, were praised for the quality of their professional career within the national education system and well beyond Their involvement in favor of the Saint-Martin community.

In his speech, President Daniel Gibbs highlighted the highlights of their lives as teachers and heads of institutions for three of them, not to mention the political journey of Frantz Gumbs, Louis Fleming and Daniel Gumbs, who were elected to the territory. President Gibbs also highlighted the many accomplishments of each of them for the support of our youth, whether in sport, community life, or extracurricular activities.

The President cited their journey as an example and wished them a retirement as rich and active as their professional life.



President's Speech - Retirement Start 2017

You are the artist of the band, I was told. Professor of Visual Arts who worked at the college Mont des Accords. I know that you have set up some very beautiful projects in Saint-Martin, notably through the Cazanova workshop with which you have fought against absenteeism and school violence, and tried to improve through dialogue and understanding the results Your pupils. I also know that the children appreciated your sweetness with them, so thank you on behalf of the community for the excellent work done on our territory. I wish you a very good retirement

MADAME JOSELYNE PRUDENT

Who does not know Madame Prudent! How do you say ? An iron hand in a velvet glove.
You arrived in Saint-Martin in 1984 to the direction of the kindergarten of Marigot, then of the school Nina DUVERLY. You, too, have organized numerous projects for Saint-Martin's students, including green classes, sea courses, and even snow, because you wanted to introduce new horizons to our young people. You have invested heavily in our territory, you have conveyed strong values ​​to several generations of Saint-Martin. For this, a big thank you from our institution.
I wish you a happy retirement and all the happiness you deserve.

MONSIEUR LOUIS FLEMING

As I read Evelyne Fleming's writings on the Rector's website, I learned that Chick was also nicknamed Richie by the older ones because his uncle had wanted to see him baptized Richard rather than Louis. It was once in school that Chick took over.
So Chick, you were promoted to the SMA of Guadeloupe, military in Tahiti, then teacher from 1974, appointed to the school of Seaside in 1980. Then you climbed the ranks, thanks to your skills and your human qualities.
Like me, you love the sport, especially Football and Handball, a discipline that you introduced to your students when you were a USEP delegate from 1976 to 1992.
Tonight, I would like to greet your involvement during more than 40 years in the service of our community. You have carried your stone to the building of our community, as your constant friend the President, I thank you wholeheartedly.

DANIEL GUMBS

Daniel, you have also put your energy at the service of our youth, especially in the fight against school failure and absenteeism. Your sense of listening is no longer to be demonstrated. You have had a very good career thanks to your many qualities.
You started as an assistant teacher, then you passed the recruitment contest to teach in professional high school in 1982. You have finished your career in your stronghold of Quartier d'Orléans that you love so much. I know you are very proud to have hosted an unpublished experimentation of bilingual teaching in French and English, a source of wealth for us in Saint-Martin.
Personally, I would describe you as a quiet force. Thank you for your commitment to the service of our young people, very good retirement to French Quarter with yours.

MONSIEUR FRANTZ GUMBS

Frantz, you have a model career in national education. You took your first steps as a teacher in Guadeloupe, but you finally came back to your native land to continue your commitment. You also climbed the posts with a disconcerting ease to finish the position of headmaster of the School City. You have been involved in the Saint-Martin community in the service of your fellow citizens. The party committee, the Rotary club, among others ... and of course the politics that will be part of your life as soon as 2001, like me besides.

In 2003, you were a member of the popular consensus in favor of the new status, then we won the elections in 2007 and you became President of the Territorial Council in 2008. We have not always been on the same wavelength at the political level, but our mutual respect has always persisted and is what matters today.

I would like to pay tribute tonight to your magnificent journey as a man, and I wish you an excellent retreat. I have no doubt that it will be as rich and lively as your professional life.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Through this intervention, above all, I wanted to express to you, on behalf of my majority, our sincere and heartfelt thanks for everything you brought to our island, the Saint-Martin families, whose children were built thanks to you.

We wish you all the best for your new life, and still live beautiful projects and happiness shared with those around you.
Again, a thousand thanks on behalf of the community of Saint-Martin.

Merci de votre attention.


Overseas Campus 2016
Overseas Campus 2016 - 2016-09-05
The second edition of the Overseas Campus brought together more 3000 ultramarine students, Saturday 03 September 2016, in the Gardens of the French Overseas Department, rue Oudinot in Paris. It was the new Minister of Overseas France, Ericka Bareigts, who welcomed the many guests. The Maison de Saint-Martin and the association Pélicarus have, once again, pooled their resources to participate in this event, with the common objective of providing logistical assistance to young people ...
Read more
The
The - 2016-07-07
The Robert Weinum school complex was inaugurated on Monday 04 July 2016 by President Aline Hanson, Prefect Anne Laubies, parliamentarians Daniel Gibbs and Guillaume Arnell, Rector of the Academy of Guadeloupe Camille Galap, local elected representatives, Semsamar, Marie-Paule Bélénus-Romana and the entire educational community of Saint-Martin. The project of creating a school city was born under the previous ...
Read more
A p
A p - 2016-06-27
President Aline Hanson and Michel Sanz, the representative of the rector, officially launched the creation of a hotel-restaurant-tourism excellence center in Saint-Martin, during a joint press conference, the 24 June 2016. A project supported by the French overseas minister George Pau-Langevin, who herself announced the creation of the pole of excellence by press. The first action within the pole of excellence is the implementation to count ...
Read more
Collectivit
Collectivit - 2016-01-04
After the site visits organized by the Community, the 2 July and the 9 December 2015 to the attention of all the members of the school community, the beginning of the classes took place in the school city, this Monday 4 January 2016 , As promised by the President of the Collectivity. This re-entry, scheduled for a long time with the authorities of the rectorate, was marked by a strike notice filed by trade unions ...
Read more
Coll
Coll - 2015-03-05
25 pupils of 6e and 5e of the college Soualiga of Cul de Sac On Thursday morning, the director of Education Médhi BOUCARD and the representatives of the Youth and Sports Services of the Community, Priscilla BADE, Jean-Marc GERVAIS and Wendy GUMBS, Under the aegis of President Aline HANSON - 25 students of 6e and 5e of the college Soualiga de Cul de Sac, in order to present to them the functioning of the institutions of the Republic in Saint Martin. Gathered in ...
Read more
Children of the P
Children of the P - 2015-02-22
The Caribbean folklore! Desirous of perpetuating the Caribbean folklore with the children of the Collective Schools of Saint-Martin, the CTOS proposed to the children of the periscolaire, to take an active part in the parade of the Carnival of the children programmed on Sunday 8 February 2015 by the Committee of Carnival Festivities of Saint-Martin (FCDSM). The children wore costumes according to the theme chosen by each welcome ...
Read more
The new Rector Camille Galap
The new Rector Camille Galap - 2015-02-02
He wants to invest for Saint-Martin The 1er vice-president Guillaume Arnell received in collectivity, Thursday 29 January 2015, the rector of Academy Camille Galap, which took his new functions last December. A particularly vigorous speech which enabled the Vice-President to present, on behalf of President Hanson, urgent files for our territory. This first interview carried out in the presence of the technicians of the Collectivity - the DGA of the cluster of ...
Read more
The
The - 2014-11-16
Exhibition "Saint-Martin of yesterday and today" Thursday 13 last November, the children of the periscolaire and the library of schools have joined together to present an exhibition entitled "Saint-Martin of yesterday and today 'Hui' at the Hervé Williams 2 elementary school, as part of the Saint-Martin's Day festivities. As Maryse Burnett, director of the school's periscolaire ...
Read more

Actualités de la collectivité
Départ de retraités de l'Education Nationale
2017-07-17
Départ de retraités de l'Education Nationale
La collectivité honore 5 personnalités de l’éducation nationale, pour leur fin de carrière!

Jeudi 13 juillet 2017, le Président Daniel GIBBS et sa vice-présidente Annick PETRUS ont tenu à rendre hommage à 5 personnalités de l’Education Nationale, lors de leur départ à la retraite. Ayant œuvré pour la communauté tout entière, ces 5 personnalités reconnues et appréciées à Saint-Martin ont reçu un présent de la collectivité en l’honneur de leur parcours au service de l’intérêt général.

Lors d’un cocktail dînatoire organisé par la collectivité de Saint-Martin à la MJC de Sandy Ground, mesdames Nadine DUCROCQ, Professeure d’Arts Plastiques, Josseline PRUDENT, Directrice de l’école Nina DUVERLY et messieurs Louis FLEMING, Conseiller Pédagogique de Circonscription en EPS, Daniel GUMBS, Principal du Collège de Quartier d’Orléans et Frantz GUMBS, Proviseur de la Cité Scolaire Robert WEINUM, ont été salués pour la qualité de leur parcours professionnel au sein de l’éducation nationale, et bien au-delà pour leur implication en faveur de la communauté saint-martinoise.

Dans son discours, le Président Daniel Gibbs a évoqué les grands moments de leur vie d’enseignants, et de chefs d’établissements pour trois d’entre eux, sans oublier de saluer le parcours politique de Frantz Gumbs, de Louis Fleming et de Daniel Gumbs, qui ont été élus sur le territoire. Le Président Gibbs a aussi souligné les nombreuses réalisations de chacun d’entre eux au bénéfice de l’accompagnement de notre jeunesse, que ce soit dans le sport, la vie associative, ou les activités extrascolaires.

Le Président a cité leur parcours en exemple et leur a souhaité une retraite aussi riche et active que l’a été leur vie professionnelle.



Le discours du Président-Départ de retraite 2017

Vous êtes l’artiste de la bande, m’a t‘on dit. Professeure d’Arts plastiques ayant exercé au collège Mont des Accords. Je sais madame que vous avez monté de très beaux projets à Saint-Martin, notamment à travers l’atelier Cazanova avec lequel vous avez lutté contre l’absentéisme et les violences scolaires, et essayé d’améliorer par le dialogue et la compréhension les résultats scolaires de vos élèves. Je sais aussi que les enfants ont apprécié votre douceur à leur égard, donc merci au nom de la collectivité pour l’excellent travail réalisé sur notre territoire. Je vous souhaite une très bonne retraite

MADAME JOSELYNE PRUDENT

Qui ne connait pas Madame PRUDENT ! Comment dit-on ? Une main de fer dans un gant de velours.
Vous êtes arrivée à Saint-Martin en 1984 à la direction de l’école maternelle de Marigot, puis de l’école Nina DUVERLY. Vous avez, vous aussi, organisé de nombreux projets en faveur des élèves Saint-Martinois, notamment des classes vertes, de mer, et même de neige, parce que vous aviez le souci de faire découvrir de nouveaux horizons à nos jeunes. Vous vous êtes fortement investie pour notre territoire, vous avez véhiculé des valeurs fortes à plusieurs générations de saint-martinois. Pour cela, un grand merci de la part de notre institution.
Je vous souhaite une heureuse retraite et tout le bonheur que vous méritez.

MONSIEUR LOUIS FLEMING

Comme j’ai lu avec attention les écrits d’Evelyne Fleming sur le site du Rectorat, j’ai appris que Chick, était aussi surnommé Richie par les plus anciens, parce que son oncle avait souhaité le voir baptisé Richard plutôt que Louis. C’est une fois à l’école que Chick a pris le dessus.
Donc Chick, tu as été Major de promo au SMA de Guadeloupe, militaire à Tahiti, puis instituteur à partir de 1974, nommé à l’école de Bord de Mer en 1980. Puis tu as gravi les échelons, grâce à tes compétences et tes qualités humaines.
Comme moi tu aimes le sport, en particulier le Football et le Handball, discipline que tu as fait découvrir à tes élèves lorsque tu étais délégué de l’USEP de 1976 à 1992.
Ce soir, je voudrais saluer ton engagement associatif durant plus de 40 ans au service de notre communauté. Tu as porté ta pierre à l’édifice de notre collectivité, comme ton amie de toujours la Présidente, je t’en remercie de tout cœur.

MONSIEUR DANIEL GUMBS

Daniel, tu as toi aussi mis ton énergie au service de notre jeunesse, notamment dans la lutte contre l’échec et l’absentéisme scolaires. Ton sens de l’écoute n’est plus à démontrer. Tu as fait une très belle carrière grâce à tes nombreuses qualités.
Tu as débuté comme maître auxiliaire, puis tu as réussi le concours de recrutement pour enseigner en lycée professionnel en 1982. Tu as fini ta carrière dans ton fief de Quartier d’Orléans que tu aimes tant. Je sais que tu es très fier d’avoir accueilli une expérimentation inédite d’un enseignement bilingue en français et en anglais source de richesse pour nous saint-martinois.
Personnellement, je te qualifierais de force tranquille. Merci pour ton engagement au service de nos jeunes, très bonne retraite à French Quarter auprès des tiens.

MONSIEUR FRANTZ GUMBS

Frantz, tu as une carrière modèle dans l’éducation nationale. Tu as fait tes premiers pas d’enseignant en Guadeloupe, mais tu es finalement vite revenu sur ta terre natale pour poursuivre ton engagement. Tu as toi aussi gravi les postes avec une aisance déconcertante pour finir au poste de proviseur de la Cité scolaire. Tu t’es beaucoup impliqué dans la vie associative saint-martinoise au service de tes concitoyens. Le comité des fêtes, le Rotary club, entre autres… et bien sûr la Politique qui fera partie de ta vie dès 2001, comme moi d’ailleurs.

En 2003, tu étais membre du consensus populaire en faveur du nouveau statut, puis nous avons gagné les élections en 2007 et tu es devenu Président du Conseil territorial en 2008. Nous n’avons pas toujours été sur la même longueur d’onde au niveau politique, mais notre respect mutuel a toujours perduré et c’est ce qui compte aujourd’hui.

Je voudrais saluer ce soir ton magnifique parcours d’homme, et je te souhaite une excellente retraite. Je ne doute pas qu’elle sera aussi riche et animée que ta vie professionnelle.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Par cette intervention, je voulais surtout vous exprimer au nom de ma majorité nos remerciements sincères et chaleureux pour tout ce que vous avez apporté à notre île, aux familles saint-martinoises, dont les enfants se sont construits grâce à vous.

Nous vous souhaitons le meilleur pour votre nouvelle vie, et de vivre encore de beaux projets et du bonheur partagé avec ceux qui vous entourent.
Encore une fois, mille mercis au nom de la collectivité de Saint-Martin.

Merci de votre attention.


Campus outre-mer 2016
Campus outre-mer 2016 - 2016-09-05
La deuxième édition du Campus Outre-mer a réuni plus de 3000 étudiants ultramarins, samedi 03 septembre 2016, dans les Jardins du ministère des Outre-mer, rue Oudinot à Paris. C’est la nouvelle Ministre des Outre-mer, Ericka Bareigts, qui a accueilli les nombreux convives. La Maison de Saint-Martin et l’association Pélicarus ont, une nouvelle fois, mutualisé leurs moyens pour participer à cet événement, avec l’objectifcommun d’apporter une aide logistique aux jeunes...
  Lire la suite
La cité scolaire officiellement inaugurée !
La cité scolaire officiellement inaugurée ! - 2016-07-07
La cité scolaire Robert Weinum a été inaugurée, lundi 04 juillet 2016, par la Présidente Aline Hanson, la Préfète Anne Laubies, les parlementaires Daniel Gibbs et Guillaume Arnell, le recteur de l’Académie de Guadeloupe Camille Galap, les élus locaux, la directrice de la Semsamar, Marie-Paule Bélénus-Romana et l’ensemble de la communauté éducative de Saint-Martin. Le projet de création d’une cité scolaire est né sous la précédente...
  Lire la suite
Un  pôle d'excellence et un BTS Hôtellerie-Restauration à  Saint-Martin !
Un pôle d'excellence et un BTS Hôtellerie-Restauration à Saint-Martin ! - 2016-06-27
La Présidente Aline Hanson et Michel Sanz, le représentant du recteur, ont officiellement lancé la création d’un Pôle d’excellence hôtellerie-restauration-tourisme à Saint-Martin, lors d’une conférence de presse conjointe, le 24 juin 2016. Un projet soutenu par la ministre des Outre-mer George Pau-Langevin, qui a elle-même annoncé la création du pôle d’excellence par voie de presse. La première action au sein du pôle d’excellence est la mise en place à compter...
  Lire la suite
Collectivité Rentrée cité scolaire Robert Weinum
Collectivité Rentrée cité scolaire Robert Weinum - 2016-01-04
Après les visites de chantier organisées par la Collectivité, le 2 juillet et le 9 décembre 2015 à l’attention de l’ensemble des membres de la communauté scolaire, la rentrée des classes a eu lieu à la cité scolaire, ce lundi 4 janvier 2016, comme promis par la Présidente de la Collectivité. Cette rentrée, programmée de longue date avec les instances du rectorat, a été marquée par un préavis de grève déposé par des syndicats...
  Lire la suite
Des collégiens de Soualiga en visite à la Collectivité
Des collégiens de Soualiga en visite à la Collectivité - 2015-03-05
25 élèves de 6e et 5e du collège Soualiga de Cul de Sac Jeudi matin, le directeur de l’Education Médhi BOUCARD et les représentants des services Jeunesse & Sports de la Collectivité, Priscilla BADE, Jean-Marc GERVAIS et Wendy GUMBS, ont reçu – sous l’égide de la Présidente Aline HANSON – 25 élèves de 6e et 5e du collège Soualiga de Cul de Sac, afin de leur présenter le fonctionnement des institutions de la République à Saint-Martin. Réunis au...
  Lire la suite
Les enfants du Périscolaire ont paradé au Carnaval
Les enfants du Périscolaire ont paradé au Carnaval - 2015-02-22
Le folklore antillais! Désireuse de perpétuer le folklore antillais auprès des enfants des écoles de la Collectivité de Saint-Martin, la Caisse Territoriale des ÂŒuvres Scolaires (CTOS) a proposé aux enfants du périscolaire, de prendre une part active au défilé du Carnaval des enfants programmé le dimanche 8 février 2015 par le Comité des Festivités Carnavalesques de Saint-Martin (FCDSM). Les enfants ont porté des costumes selon le thème retenu par chaque accueil...
  Lire la suite
Le nouveau recteur Camille Galap était de passage
Le nouveau recteur Camille Galap était de passage - 2015-02-02
Il veut s’investir pour Saint-Martin Le 1er vice-président Guillaume Arnell a reçu en collectivité, jeudi 29 janvier 2015, le recteur d’Académie Camille Galap, qui a pris ses nouvelles fonctions en décembre dernier. Un entretien particulièrement soutenu qui a permis au vice-président de présenter, au nom de la présidente Hanson, les dossiers urgents pour notre territoire. Ce premier entretien réalisé en présence des techniciens de la Collectivité - le DGA du pôle de...
  Lire la suite
Les élèves du Périscolaire
Les élèves du Périscolaire - 2014-11-16
Exposition “ Saint-Martin d’hier et d’aujourd’hui ” Jeudi 13 novembre dernier, les enfants du périscolaire et la bibliothèque des écoles ont uni leurs efforts afin de présenter une exposition intitulée “ Saint-Martin d’hier et d’aujourd’hui ” à l’école élémentaire Hervé Williams 2, dans le cadre des festivités du Saint-Martin’s Day.  Comme l’indique Maryse Burnett, directrice du périscolaire de l’école...
  Lire la suite