Community News
Speeches
2017-05-27
Speeches
Speech of the President Daniel Gibbes - The 27 May 2017.


Ladies and gentlemen,

We thought, last year, that for the very last time, we would commemorate the abolition of slavery a 27 May.

The historical research undertaken by our historian, Mrs Daniella Jeffry - whom I wish to salute this morning - and confirmed by the dynamic and very involved service of the Territorial Archives, had indeed led our Territorial Council to vote unanimously, Date of commemoration in Saint-Martin on 28 May, date of effective proclamation in our territory.

But as in St. Martin, things do not always go as they should be, the ministerial decree that was to endorse this date of 28 May commemorates the abolition of slavery in St. Martin and official holiday , Was the subject of a small shell, since its editors indeed confused the month of May with ... the month of March!

So much for the anecdote.

It does not alter, however, the pleasure and honor I have this morning of having you and all by my side, in the proud and benevolent shadow of our Lady Liberty, for this moment of strong symbol and Rich in our history.

Nor does it change the duty of memory that is imposed upon us today.

We are in 2017. Whether we are here or elsewhere, we live, whatever one may say, in the cozy comfort of a Republic which assures the same rights to all its citizens and in the tranquility of a democracy which The guarantees.

And we must remember, and teach the new generations this morning, that this has not always been the case. And that for three centuries our country, France, has benefited from the trade in slave trade and slavery.

300 years, before women and men, who had faith in the Humanity, stand up to say "never again that".

The commemoration of this day imposes a duty of respect. Respect for these fighters against infamy and barbarism.

I shared the 18 last May, remembering the ideal Dessalinien with our Haitian friends on the occasion of the feast of the Flag. This morning, in the same way, I wish that we should have a remembrance as lively as that of Victor Schoelcher, Felix Eboue, Abb6 Gregoire, Louis Delgres, Toussaint Louverture, Ignatius, Solitude.

Their struggles, their revolts, their resistance, their beliefs in human values, and all this bloodshed, make us French today, living in a Republic in which freedom and human rights are indestructible pillars .

And I would like to recall that our Republic has rightly built itself with the abolitionist movement, and these words of Schoelcher in 1848: "The Republic no longer intends to make any distinction in the human family. It does not believe that it suffices, to boast of being a free people, to pass over in silence a whole class of men held outside the common law of humanity. She took her principle seriously; She repaired to these unfortunates the crime which formerly took them from their parents, from their native country, by giving them France as their country, and as inheritance all the rights of the French citizen. In this way, it testifies rather loudly that it excludes no one from its eternal motto: "Liberty - Equality - Fraternity".

Only memory and reflection on this painful past can ground our commitment as citizens against the barbarities of today and tomorrow. It was in this process that our Parliament was included when, in 2001, it made France the very first country in the world to include in the law recognition of slavery as a crime against humanity, humanity.

These hours are sinking from our history, these struggles to get out of it and to engrave their memories in the marble for present and future generations, must remind us that today even more than 20 millions of women, men and women Children throughout the world, remain the victims of various forms of servitude.

Thank you.


Fish Day: The Pr
Fish Day: The Pr - 2017-05-08
Speeches President GIBBES: Fish Day 2017 Edition Ladies and gentlemen, My dear friends, I welcome your presence today for this new edition of Fish Day and I would like to begin by thanking all the players for making it possible. The Community is the privileged conductor of these festivities and we can be proud of the growing success of the Fish Day, year after year ...
Read more
The
The - 2016-12-19
Come this Friday December 23 to the christmas party ofLOT, "Christmas 2016in ...
Read more
We Christmas : Venez fter Nol en musique ! - 2016-12-05
In the continuation of the Christmas Experience, which opened the Christmas festivities on Sunday 27 last November, the Community of Saint Martin continues its Christmas program, with a new evening of celebration, on Sunday 11 December 2016, from 17h30 to 21h30 , On the Marigot Waterfront. The Christmas truce has arrived, and with it the spirit of festivity and sharing that we so much appreciate in Saint-Martin. Entitled "We Christmas", this ...
Read more
Christmas Experience: Launch of the festivities
Christmas Experience: Launch of the festivities - 2016-12-01
The Christmas Experience organized by the community of Saint-Martin on Sunday 27 November 2016 on the market place of Marigot, has kept all its promises. The people came to share this party, inaugurated by President Aline Hanson with the goal of launching the Christmas festivities. Focusing on tradition and sharing, Christmas Experience opened the festive Christmas season on our territory. The traditional choirs, animated the ...
Read more
Christmas Experience: Launch of the festivities
Christmas Experience: Launch of the festivities - 2016-11-16
Christmas Experience is a new event created by the community of Saint-Martin. The public is invited to share this evening of celebration, Sunday 27 November 2016, from 17 hours, on the Waterfront of Marigot. Christmas Experience will mark the launch of the Christmas celebrations. Focused on tradition and sharing, Christmas Experience will open the festive Christmas season on our territory. As in the good old days, the various districts of Saint-Martin will take ...
Read more
The program of Saint-Martin's Day 2016!
The program of Saint-Martin's Day 2016! - 2016-11-07
Consult the program of activities of Saint-Martin's ...
Read more
A triumphant welcome for the young singer Saint-Martin Tamilia Chance!
A triumphant welcome for the young singer Saint-Martin Tamilia Chance! - 2016-10-11
At the invitation of the Dutch authorities, Mrs. Rollande Questel, the territorial councilor in charge of Culture, visited Princess Juliana airport on Monday 10 October 2016 to welcome the young Tamillia Chance on her return from Paris where she Was a finalist on the tele-hook The Voice Kids. Together with Rollande Questel, Mrs. Lisa Noël, an agent of the Tourist Office of Sint Maarten, also came to greet the young singer. Mrs. Questel has ...
Read more
Lend a Hand, an op
Lend a Hand, an op - 2016-07-29
The 1er July 2016, a new edition of the operation Lend A Hand, initiated by the community of Saint-Martin, started with the mobilization of young 126 distributed in 56 companies. It is now 7 years that the community has set up this device, aiming to connect young people in search of employment and the companies of the place. Since 2 years, the community has an agreement with LF Development which ensures the training on the knowledge to be in ...
Read more

Actualités de la collectivité
Discours du Président: Commémoration de l'Abolition de l'Esclavage
2017-05-27
Discours du Président: Commémoration de l'Abolition de l'Esclavage
Discours du Président Daniel Gibbes- Le 27 mai 2017.


Mesdames et Messieurs,

Nous pensions, l’année dernière, que pour la toute dernière fois, nous commémorerions l’abolition de l’esclavage un 27 mai.

Les recherches historiques engagées par notre historienne, Madame Daniella Jeffry - que je tiens à saluer ce matin- et confirmées par le dynamique et très impliqué service des Archives Territoriales, avaient en effet conduit notre Conseil territorial à voter à l’unanimité, le changement de date de commémoration à Saint-Martin au 28 mai, date de proclamation effective sur notre territoire.

Mais comme à Saint-Martin, les choses ne se déroulent pas toujours comme il se doit, le décret ministériel qui devait entériner cette date du 28 mai comme date de commémoration de l’abolition de l’esclavage à Saint-Martin et jour férié officiel, a fait l’objet d’une petite coquille, puisque ses rédacteurs ont en effet confondu le mois de mai avec… le mois de mars !

Voilà pour l’anecdote.

Elle ne change en rien, néanmoins, au plaisir et à l’honneur que j’ai ce matin de vous avoir toutes et tous à mes côtés, dans l’ombre fière et bienveillante de notre Lady Liberty, pour ce moment fort de symbole et riche de notre histoire.

Elle ne change rien, non plus, au devoir de mémoire qui nous est imposé ce jour.

Nous sommes en 2017. Que nous soyons d’ici ou d’ailleurs, nous vivons, quoi que l’on puisse en dire, dans le confort douillet d’une République qui assure les mêmes droits à tous ses citoyens et dans la quiétude d’une démocratie qui nous les garantis.

Et nous devons nous souvenir, et apprendre aux nouvelles générations ce matin, que cela n’a pas toujours été le cas. Et que pendant trois siècles, notre pays, la France, a tiré profit du commerce de la traite des noirs et de l’esclavage.

300 ans, avant que des femmes et des hommes, qui avaient foi en l’Humanité, se dressent pour dire « plus jamais ça ».

La commémoration de ce jour, nous impose un devoir de respect. De respect pour ces combattants contre l’infamie et la barbarie.

J’ai partagé le 18 mai dernier, le souvenir de l’idéal Dessalinien avec nos amis Haïtiens à l’occasion de la fête du Drapeau. Ce matin, de la même manière, je souhaite que nous ayons un souvenir aussi vif qu’empreint d’humilité pour Victor Schoelcher, pour Félix Éboué, pour l'abbé Grégoire, pour Louis Delgrès, pour Toussaint Louverture, pour Ignace ou encore pour Solitude.

Leurs combats, leurs révoltes, leurs résistances, leurs croyances aux valeurs humaines, et tout ce sang versé, font qu’aujourd’hui, nous Français, vivons dans une République dans laquelle la liberté et les droits de l'homme sont des piliers indestructibles.

Et j’aimerai rappeler que notre République s’est justement bâtie avec le mouvement abolitionniste, et ces mots de Schoelcher en 1848 : « La République n’entend plus faire de distinction dans la famille humaine. Elle ne croit pas qu’il suffise, – pour se glorifier d’être un peuple libre -, de passer sous silence toute une classe d’hommes tenue hors du droit commun de l’humanité. Elle a pris au sérieux son principe; elle répare envers ces malheureux le crime qui les enleva jadis à leurs parents, à leur pays natal, en leur donnant pour patrie la France, et pour héritage tous les droits du citoyen français. Par là, elle témoigne assez hautement qu’elle n’exclut personne de son éternelle devise: «Liberté – Egalité – Fraternité».

Seules la mémoire et la réflexion sur ce passé douloureux peuvent fonder notre engagement de citoyennes et de citoyens contre les barbaries d'aujourd'hui et de demain. C’est d’ailleurs dans cette démarche que s'est inscrit notre Parlement lorsqu'en 2001, il a fait de la France le tout premier pays au monde à inscrire dans la loi, la reconnaissance de l'esclavage comme crime contre l'humanité.

Ces heures sombrent de notre Histoire, ces luttes pour en sortir et pour en graver la mémoire dans le marbre pour les générations actuelles et futures, doivent nous rappeler qu’aujourd’hui encore, plus de 20 millions de femmes, d’hommes et d’enfants à travers le monde, demeurent les victimes de diverses formes de servitude.

Je vous remercie.


Fish Day: Le Président Gibbs veut soutenir la pêche traditionnelle
Fish Day: Le Président Gibbs veut soutenir la pêche traditionnelle - 2017-05-08
Discours Président GIBBES: Fish Day édition 2017 Mesdames et messieurs, Mes chers amis, Je me réjouis de votre présence aujourd’hui pour cette nouvelle édition du Fish Day et je voudrais en préambule en remercier tous les acteurs de l’avoir rendu possible. La Collectivité est le chef d’orchestre privilégié de ces festivités et nous pouvons être fiers du succès croissant que rencontre le Fish Day, année après...
  Lire la suite
L’Office de tourisme fête Noël !
L’Office de tourisme fête Noël ! - 2016-12-19
Venez nombreux ce vendredi 23 décembre à la fête de noël deL'OT, "Christmas 2016in...
  Lire la suite
« We Christmas » : Venez fêter Noël en musique !
« We Christmas » : Venez fêter Noël en musique ! - 2016-12-05
Dans la continuité du « Christmas Experience », qui a ouvert les festivités de Noël, dimanche 27 novembre dernier, la Collectivité de Saint-Martin poursuit sa programmation de Noël, avec une nouvelle soirée de célébration, dimanche 11 décembre 2016, de 17h30 à 21h30, sur le Front de mer de Marigot. La trêve de Noël est arrivée, et avec elle l’esprit de fête et de partage que nous apprécions tant à Saint-Martin. Intitulé « We Christmas », cet...
  Lire la suite
Christmas Experience: Lancement des festivités de Noël, en chanson!
Christmas Experience: Lancement des festivités de Noël, en chanson! - 2016-12-01
L’événement Christmas Experience organisé par la collectivité de Saint-Martin, le dimanche 27 novembre 2016 sur la place du marché de Marigot, a tenu toutes ses promesses. La population est venue partager cette soirée de fête, inaugurée par la présidente Aline Hanson avec l’objectif de lancer les festivités de Noël. Axée sur la tradition et le partage, Christmas Experience a ouvert la saison festive de Noël sur notre territoire. Les chorales traditionnelles, ont animé la...
  Lire la suite
Christmas Experience : Lancement des festivités de Noël, le dimanche 27 novembre
Christmas Experience : Lancement des festivités de Noël, le dimanche 27 novembre - 2016-11-16
Christmas Experience est un nouvel événement créé par la collectivité de Saint-Martin. La population est invitée à partager cette soirée de fête, dimanche 27 novembre 2016, à partir de 17 heures, sur le Front de mer de Marigot. Christmas Experience marquera le lancement des fêtes de Noël. Axée sur la tradition et le partage, Christmas Experience ouvrira la saison festive de Noël sur notre territoire. Comme au bon vieux temps, les différents quartiers de Saint-Martin prendront...
  Lire la suite
Le programme de Saint-Martin's Day 2016 !
Le programme de Saint-Martin's Day 2016 ! - 2016-11-07
Consultez le programme des activités de Saint-Martin's...
  Lire la suite
Un accueil triomphal pour la jeune chanteuse saint-martinoise Tamilia Chance!
Un accueil triomphal pour la jeune chanteuse saint-martinoise Tamilia Chance! - 2016-10-11
A l'invitation des autorités néerlandaises, madame Rollande Questel, conseillère territoriale en charge de la Culture, s’est rendue à l’aéroport Princess Juliana, lundi 10 octobre 2016, pour accueillir la jeune Tamillia Chance, à son retour de Paris où elle a été finaliste du télé-crochet The Voice Kids. Aux côtés de Rollande Questel, madame Lisa Noël, agent de l'Office de tourisme de Sint Maarten, venue, elle aussi, saluer la jeune chanteuse. Madame Questel a...
  Lire la suite
Lend a Hand, une opération précieuse pour la jeunesse locale
Lend a Hand, une opération précieuse pour la jeunesse locale - 2016-07-29
Le 1er juillet 2016, une nouvelle édition de l’opération Lend A Hand, initiée par la collectivité de Saint-Martin, a démarré avec la mobilisation de 126 jeunes répartis dans 56 entreprises. Cela fait maintenant 7 ans que la collectivité a mis en place ce dispositif, visant à mettre en contact les jeunes en recherche d’emploi et les entreprises de la place. Depuis 2 ans, la collectivité a passé une convention avec LF Développement qui assure la formation sur le savoir être en...
  Lire la suite