Community News
enl
2017-10-26
enl
President Daniel Gibbs had announced it since taking office in April 2017, the wreck of the boat El Maud, in the bay of the Galisbay Bay, will soon disappear. Launched well before hurricane IRMA, this public contract was awarded last July to the Dutch company Koole BV, for an amount of 395 000 €. Work began in mid-October and are complete.
The El Maud ship ran aground at 100 meters from shore, by about 4.5 meters deep, during the passage of Hurricane Lenny, in November 1999. Long 70 meters and weighing 800 tons, the wreck has never been decommissioned and has deteriorated over the years. The deprivation of the right of ownership having been pronounced by the administrative authority (article L5142-2 of the Code of transport), it allowed the collectivity of Saint-Martin to act and to proceed to the removal of this wreck.
The specifications provided for the sorting and evacuation of all types of debris and demolition waste and the restoration of the seabed. The Company had to produce a detailed methodological and organizational memorandum indicating precisely the material and human resources used to carry out this work.
The selective sorting of materials and the evacuation of all debris from demolition is a legal obligation, in accordance with the Environment Code (Art L541-24). The contractor was thus commissioned to implement the necessary means to guarantee the continuity of the evacuation channels and the recycling of the materials, and carried out a complete cleaning of the seabed at the end of the building site.
In addition to the wreck of El Maud, which has deformed the Bay of the Potence since 18 years, many ships were damaged by Hurricane IRMA, the 06 last September, and must be removed from the littoral zones. The marine industry estimates that 1000 has the number of damaged vessels including 500 listed as wrecks.
The abduction of El Maud is a strong sign of the commitment of President Gibbs and his team for the rehabilitation and beautification of coastal areas.


EDF wishes to accompany Saint-Martin in its reconstruction
EDF wishes to accompany Saint-Martin in its reconstruction - 2017-10-25
The President Daniel Gibbs received in community, Saturday 14 October 2017, the CEO of the EDF Group, Mr. Jean-Bernard Levy and his delegation, in the presence of the Prefect Anne Laubies, to discuss the support of EDF on the territory concerning the rehabilitation of electricity networks. In the preamble, President Levy told President Gibbs that the deployment of exceptional means by ...
Read more
Professor's intervention
Professor's intervention - 2017-10-24
Speech of the 23-10-2017 ************************************** Ladies and gentlemen, Dear friends, Hello everyone, It is always a privilege for a President of the Community to be able to address the forces of his territory. And it is all the more significant today that we have just experienced an unprecedented hurricane, and that it is precisely by the revival ...
Read more
The Pr
The Pr - 2017-10-20
Here are some pictures of President Gibbs' last field visits and his elected officials. Tuesday 17 October President Daniel Gibbs and his vice-president Yawo Nyuiadzi received the representatives of the traders' association at their request. President Yann Lecam, Treasurer Fred Erb and Member Babey Alfred were able to convey their questions to President Gibbs. President Gibbs has ...
Read more
EDF and the Community
EDF and the Community - 2017-10-20
The community of Saint-Martin, represented by its President, Mr. Daniel Gibbs and his 3e Vice-President, Mrs. Annick Pétrus and the company EDF Archipel Guadeloupe, represented by its director Mr. Sylvain Vidal, have signed a partnership agreement, Friday October 20 2017, with the common goal of fighting energy poverty in the territory, after Hurricane IRMA. This natural disaster has exposed some of our ...
Read more
Draft d
Draft d - 2017-10-17
Please find attached, the documents relating to the draft deliberation departing from the urban planning code of the community of Saint Martin to simplify the procedures for the reconstruction of the buildings destroyed or damaged by hurricane Irma and to stay provisional judgment on applications for sectors subject to high risk of swell ...
Read more
The Pr
The Pr - 2017-10-16
As a preamble, President Gibbs welcomed the government's "listening" and "the notable advances" obtained during his trip to the 3 Inter-Ministerial Meeting (RIM) this week in Paris. The President announced his responsibilities, as President of the Community, and put in place clear and effective measures to rebuild the territory, on the basis of the accompanying measures of the state and ...
Read more
Grand Rassemblement: Intervention of the Pr
Grand Rassemblement: Intervention of the Pr - 2017-10-09
Sunday October 08 2017 ** Speech by President Gibbs ** Dear friends, Hello everyone, Welcome and thank you for coming to share this moment with us. I am very moved to see you so many here on our dear Marigot Sea Front, which represents to my eyes and in the eyes of many Saint-Martinois, a symbolic place. It was here that the ancients used to meet. They loved to ...
Read more
last
last - 2017-09-25
- Registration to get tarpaulins is open on 4 sites from 8h to 12h from Monday to Friday: - Hotel of the community in Marigot - School A. Hanson in Sandy Ground - School Elie Gibs Grand Case - School Clair St Maximin in QO - 6 water distribution points are currently open in the neighborhoods, there will be 11 from Sunday 24. - Food distribution continues at 6 ...
Read more

Actualités de la collectivité
Enlèvement de l'épave du bateau El Maud
2017-10-26
Enlèvement de l'épave du bateau El Maud
Le Président Daniel Gibbs l’avait annoncé dès sa prise de fonction en avril 2017, l’épave du bateau El Maud, dans la baie de la Potence à Galisbay, va bientôt disparaître. Lancé bien avant le passage de l’ouragan IRMA, ce marché public a été attribué au mois de juillet dernier à la société néerlandaise Koole BV, pour un montant de 395 000€. Les travaux ont débuté à la mi-octobre et sont achevés.
Le navire El Maud s’est échoué à 100 mètres du rivage, par environ 4.5 mètres de fond, lors du passage de l’ouragan Lenny, en novembre 1999. Longue de 70 mètres et pesant 800 tonnes, l’épave n’a jamais été désarmée et s’est dégradée au fil des années. La déchéance du droit de propriété ayant été prononcée par l’autorité administrative (art. L5142-2 du Code des transports), elle a permis à la collectivité de Saint-Martin d’agir et de procéder à l’enlèvement de cette épave.
Le cahier des charges prévoyait le tri et l’évacuation des débris et déchets de démolition de toute nature et les travaux de remise en état des fonds marins. L’Entreprise a ainsi dû produire un mémoire méthodologique et organisationnel détaillé indiquant précisément les moyens matériels et humains mis en œuvre pour réaliser ces travaux.
Le tri sélectif des matériaux et l'évacuation de l'ensemble des débris provenant de la démolition sont une obligation légale, conformément au Code de l’Environnement (Art L541-24). Le prestataire a ainsi été chargé de mettre en œuvre les moyens nécessaires pour garantir la continuité des filières d’évacuation et le recyclage des matériaux, et a effectué un nettoyage complet des fonds marins à la fin du chantier.
Outre l’épave du El Maud qui dénature la baie de la Potence depuis 18 ans, de nombreux navires ont été endommagés par l’ouragan IRMA, le 06 septembre dernier, et doivent être enlevés des zones littorales. La filière du nautisme estime en effet à 1000 le nombre de bateaux sinistrés dont 500 ont été répertoriés comme épaves.
L’enlèvement d’El Maud est un signe fort de l’engagement du Président Gibbs et de son équipe en faveur de la réhabilitation et de l’embellissement des zones littorales.


EDF souhaite accompagner Saint-Martin dans sa reconstruction
EDF souhaite accompagner Saint-Martin dans sa reconstruction - 2017-10-25
Le Président Daniel Gibbs a reçu en collectivité, samedi 14 octobre 2017, le Président Directeur Général du Groupe EDF, monsieur Jean-Bernard Levy et sa délégation, en présence de la Préfète Anne Laubies, afin de discuter de l’accompagnement d’EDF sur le territoire concernant la réhabilitation des réseaux d’électricité. En préambule, le Président Levy a indiqué au Président Gibbs que le déploiement de moyens exceptionnels par...
  Lire la suite
Intervention du Président Gibbs – Initiative Saint-Martin
Intervention du Président Gibbs – Initiative Saint-Martin - 2017-10-24
Discours du 23-10-2017 ************************************** Mesdames et messieurs, Chers amis, Bonjour à tous, C’est toujours un privilège pour un Président de Collectivité de pouvoir s’adresser aux forces vives de son territoire. Et c’est d’autant plus significatif aujourd’hui que nous venons de vivre un ouragan sans précédent, et que c’est précisément par la relance...
  Lire la suite
Le Président Gibbs et ses élus visitent les entreprises sinistrées
Le Président Gibbs et ses élus visitent les entreprises sinistrées - 2017-10-20
Voici quelques photos sur les dernières visites de terrain du Président Gibbs et ses élus. Mardi 17 octobre : Le Président Daniel Gibbs et son vice-président Yawo Nyuiadzi ont reçu en collectivité les représentants de l’association des commerçants à leur demande. Le Président Yann Lecam, le Trésorier Fred Erb et Babey Alfred, membre, ont ainsi pu transmettre au Président Gibbs leurs interrogations. Le Président Gibbs a...
  Lire la suite
EDF et la Collectivité partenaires pour la lutte contre la précarité énergétique
EDF et la Collectivité partenaires pour la lutte contre la précarité énergétique - 2017-10-20
La collectivité de Saint-Martin, représentée par son Président, monsieur Daniel Gibbs et sa 3e vice-présidente, madame Annick Pétrus et la compagnie EDF Archipel Guadeloupe, représentée par son directeur monsieur Sylvain Vidal, ont signé une convention de partenariat, vendredi 20 octobre 2017, dans l’objectif commun de lutter contre la précarité énergétique sur le territoire, après le passage de l’ouragan IRMA. Cette catastrophe naturelle a exposé une partie de notre...
  Lire la suite
Projet de délibération
Projet de délibération - 2017-10-17
Veuillez trouver enpièces jointes, les documents relatifs au projet de délibération dérogeant au code de l’urbanisme de la collectivité de Saint Martin pour simplifier les procédures en vue de la reconstruction des bâtiments détruits ou endommagés par le cyclone Irma et de sursoir à statuer provisoirement sur les demandes portant sur des secteurs soumis à de forts risques de houle...
  Lire la suite
Le Président lance le Plan Phoenix de reconstruction
Le Président lance le Plan Phoenix de reconstruction - 2017-10-16
En préambule, le Président Gibbs a salué « l’écoute » du gouvernement et « les avancées notables » obtenues lors de son déplacement à la 3e Réunion Inter Ministérielle (RIM), cette semaine à Paris. Le Président a annoncé prendre ses responsabilités, en tant que Président de la Collectivité, et mettre en place des mesures claires et efficaces pour reconstruire le territoire, sur la base des dispositifs d’accompagnement de l’état et...
  Lire la suite
Grand Rassemblement: Intervention du Président GIBBS
Grand Rassemblement: Intervention du Président GIBBS - 2017-10-09
Dimanche 08 octobre 2017 **Discours du Président Gibbs** Chers amis, Bonjour à tous, Bienvenue et merci d’être venu partager ce moment avec nous. Je suis très ému de vous voir si nombreux, ici, sur notre cher Front de Mer de Marigot, qui représente à mes yeux et aux yeux de nombreux Saint-Martinois, un lieu symbolique. C’est ici que les anciens avaient coutume de se réunir. Ils aimaient se...
  Lire la suite
Dernières informations utiles au public - samedi 23 septembre 2017
Dernières informations utiles au public - samedi 23 septembre 2017 - 2017-09-25
- L’inscription pour obtenir des bâches est ouverte sur 4 sites de 8h à 12h du lundi au vendredi : - Hôtel de la collectivité à Marigot - Ecole A. Hanson à Sandy Ground - Ecole Elie Gibs Grand Case - Ecole Clair St Maximin à QO - 6 points de distribution d’eau sont actuellement ouverts dans les quartiers, il y en aura 11 à partie de dimanche 24. - La distribution de denrées se poursuit aux 6...
  Lire la suite