Community News
Interreg Cara
2017-06-14
Interreg Cara
Interreg Caribbean Program V: President Gibbs defends the interests of Saint Martin in the Caribbean area

President Daniel Gibbs participated, the 30 and 31 last May, to the monitoring committee and then to the selection committee of the European Interreg Caribbean Program V - 2014-2022, in Guadeloupe. For its first participation in the implementation of the Caribbean cross-border cooperation programs, the President of the Saint-Martin community has been able to give voice to defend the interests of its territory while integrating it in a Caribbean globality.

Approved by the European Commission since 1 December 2015, the Caribbean Cooperation Program is slowly taking shape, with the focus on the territories concerned responding to the challenges of the Caribbean area through win-win project financing. The Interreg program is unique and comprises two cooperation areas: A cross-border component for local cooperation between Guadeloupe, Martinique and the OECS countries, as well as a wider transnational component for cooperation between Guadeloupe, Guyana, Martinique and Saint-Martin with all the countries and territories included in the program.
Among the major challenges of the 2014-2020 program, Partner Countries must in particular strengthen the competitiveness of enterprises by implementing joint projects, increase the capacity to respond to natural risks by improving knowledge and implementing systems Improve the management of vulnerable or protected areas by jointly developing sustainable tourism; And addressing common health issues across the Caribbean.

For President Gibbs, who was keen to make this first Interreg trip to exchange with his Caribbean counterparts, there was talk of supporting the interests of Saint Martin, while taking a more global Caribbean approach. President Gibbs personally defended the projects carried out by his territory: The Caribix project of the local telephony company Dauphin Telecom; The Cari'Mam project of the Sanctuary AGOA, and the meteorological radar project with Sint Maarten, carried out by the community of Saint-Martin.
The President also supported a project to characterize the potential of the geothermal resource carried out by the Teranov Corporation. This innovative project could be examined at the next Selection Committee in Cayenne, Guyana, during the month of September 2017, which could then see the light of day in Saint-Martin.
"This project is interesting for our zone of influence which has itself revealed its interest in the realization of an energy cooperation program", said President Gibbs, who counts on the transversality of the Caribbean territories to develop our zone Influence and create opportunities for long-term economic development. The President declared himself satisfied "with the unanimity of the votes of the partner territories on all the projects selected and eligible".


The Pr
The Pr - 2017-05-09
Determined to found the basis for a strong and effective cooperation with the neighboring islands, President Daniel Gibbes continues his protocolary visits. After meeting with Speaker of Parliament Sarah Wescot-Williams on Thursday, 04 May, and Sint Maarten's Prime Minister, William Marlin, the President of the St. Martin community visited Anguilla and St Barthelemy, Friday 05 may 2017. In Anguilla, the President met with the ...
Read more
Meeting of the Pr
Meeting of the Pr - 2017-04-27
President Daniel Gibbes met on Monday 24 April 2017, the governor of Sint-Maarten, Eugene Holiday, during a courtesy visit to Philipsburg. The President of the community, indeed, wished to meet at the beginning of his mandate the dignitaries of the neighboring territories, in order to introduce themselves and to initiate the first exchanges in the field of regional cooperation. The President and the Governor were thus able to discuss the files in progress, the actions of ...
Read more
COM-LADOM, towards a stronger partnership
COM-LADOM, towards a stronger partnership - 2016-12-08
On Tuesday 06 December, President Aline HANSON received at the hotel of the community, Florus NESTAR Managing Director of LADOM and Raoul LEBRAVE Regional Director of LADOM. For both partners, it was necessary to take stock of their actions within the framework of the mobility schemes and to discuss the convention that will soon be signed between COM and LADOM. The aim of this meeting was to ask the ...
Read more
The Minister of Tourism of
The Minister of Tourism of - 2016-12-07
Guy Didier Hyppolite, Minister of Tourism and Creative Industries of Haiti, received in community on Tuesday 29 November 2016, regional councilor Louis Fleming, in charge of regional cooperation. Accompanied by his cabinet staff, the minister traveled to the West Indies, with the aim of creating inter-island tourism links and opportunities. The exchange between Guy Didier Hyppolite and Louis Fleming was all ...
Read more
INTERREG Cara
INTERREG Cara - 2016-10-25
"The Interreg Caraïbes program launches its 1er Call for Expressions of Interest (AMI) from 25 October to 18 November 2016 You are an association, a public or private company You have a project idea with the Caribbean? The Interreg Caraïbes program! The pre-project form is also available on the website www.interreg-caraibes.fr For more information contact the ...
Read more
New Governor of Lions Club International
New Governor of Lions Club International - 2016-10-21
Vice-President Rosette Gumbs-Lake welcomed Christian Calixte, new governor of Lions Club International, on a visit to Saint-Martin, the 7 and 8 October 2016. Come to meet the 4 clubs of Saint-Martin and Saint-Barthélemy, the governor also wished to pay a courtesy visit to the territorial executive. During this meeting, Christian Calixte was accompanied by his 1er vice-president Christian Colomb, District Secretary Anne-Marie Beaubrun, ...
Read more
Courtesy visit of Mr. Charles Savarin,
Courtesy visit of Mr. Charles Savarin, - 2016-10-20
President Aline HANSON received in college on Friday 14 October 2016, her Excellency Charles SAVARIN, President of the Commonwealth of Dominica, accompanied by his wife Clara SAVARIN. Invited on the territory by the Dominica Foundation of Saint Martin, as part of the 38th anniversary of the independence of Dominica, President SAVARIN wished to pay a courtesy visit to the local executive. Madam President Aline HANSON was ...
Read more
Conf
Conf - 2016-09-28
XXIth Conference of Presidents of the ORs From 21 to 24 September 2016 - Funchal - Madeira The 21th Conference of Presidents of the Outermost Regions of Europe (RUP) was held in Funchal (Madeira), from 21 to 24 September 2016. President Aline HANSON went to represent the community of Saint-Martin. Among the highlights of this conference, the internal session of the ...
Read more

Actualités de la collectivité
Interreg Caraïbes V
2017-06-14
Interreg Caraïbes V
Programme Interreg Caraïbes V : Le Président Gibbs défend les intérêts de Saint-Martin dans l’espace Caribéen

Le Président Daniel Gibbs a participé, les 30 et 31 mai dernier, au comité de suivi, puis au comité de sélection du Programme européen Interreg Caraïbes V - 2014-2022, en Guadeloupe. Pour sa première participation à la mise en œuvre des programmes de coopération transfrontalière caribéenne, le Président de la collectivité de Saint-Martin a su donner de la voix pour défendre les intérêts de son territoire tout en l’intégrant dans une globalité caribéenne.

Approuvé par la commission européenne depuis le 1er décembre 2015, le Programme de coopération caribéenne prend doucement forme avec en point de mire l’obligation pour les territoires concernés de répondre aux défis de l’espace Caraïbes par le financement de projet gagnant-gagnant. Le programme Interreg est unique en son genre et comporte deux espaces de coopération : Un volet transfrontalier pour la coopération de proximité entre la Guadeloupe, la Martinique et les pays de l'OECO, ainsi qu’un volet transnational plus large pour la coopération entre la Guadeloupe, la Guyane, la Martinique et Saint-Martin avec l'ensemble des pays et territoires faisant partie du programme.
Parmi les grands enjeux du programme 2014-2020, les pays partenaires doivent notamment renforcer la compétitivité des entreprises par la mise en œuvre de projets conjoints, augmenter la capacité de réponse aux risques naturels par l'amélioration des connaissances et la mise en place de systèmes communs de gestion, améliorer la gestion des espaces vulnérables ou protégés en développant conjointement un tourisme durable ; et répondre aux problématiques communes de santé à l'échelle de la Caraïbe.

Pour le Président Gibbs qui a tenu à faire ce premier déplacement Interreg pour échanger avec ses homologues caribéens, il a été question de soutenir les intérêts de Saint-Martin, tout en s’inscrivant dans une démarche caribéenne plus globale. Le Président Gibbs a personnellement défendu les projets portés par son territoire : Le projet Caribix de l’entreprise locale de téléphonie Dauphin Telecom ; Le projet Cari’Mam du Sanctuaire AGOA, et le projet de radar météorologique avec Sint Maarten, porté par la collectivité de Saint-Martin.
Le Président a, par ailleurs, apporté son soutien à un projet de caractérisation du potentiel de la ressource géothermale porté par la Société Teranov. Ce projet novateur pourra être examiné au prochain Comité de Sélection qui se tiendra à Cayenne en Guyane, dans le courant du mois de septembre 2017, il pourrait alors voir le jour à Saint-Martin.
« Ce projet est intéressant pour notre zone d’influence qui a, elle-même, dévoilé son intérêt pour la réalisation d’un programme de coopération énergétique », a indiqué le Président Gibbs qui compte sur la transversalité des territoires caribéens pour développer notre zone d’influence et créer des opportunités de développement économique sur le long terme. Le Président s’est déclaré satisfait « de l’unanimité des voix des territoires partenaires sur tous les projets sélectionnés et éligibles ».


Le Président en visites protocolaires à  Anguilla et St Barthélemy
Le Président en visites protocolaires à Anguilla et St Barthélemy - 2017-05-09
Déterminé à fonder les bases d’une coopération forte et efficace avec les îles voisines, le Président Daniel Gibbes poursuit ses visites protocolaires. Après avoir rencontré, jeudi 04 mai, la Présidente du Parlement, Sarah Wescot-Williams, et le Premier Ministre de Sint Maarten, William Marlin, le Président de la collectivité de Saint-Martin s’est rendu à Anguilla, puis à St Barthélemy, vendredi 05 mai 2017. A Anguilla, le Président s’est entretenu avec la...
  Lire la suite
Rencontre du Président Daniel Gibbes avec le gouverneur de Sint-Maarten, Eugène Holiday.
Rencontre du Président Daniel Gibbes avec le gouverneur de Sint-Maarten, Eugène Holiday. - 2017-04-27
Le Président Daniel Gibbes a rencontré, lundi 24 avril 2017, le gouverneur de Sint-Maarten, Eugène Holiday, lors d’une visite de courtoisie à Philipsburg. Le Président de la collectivité a, en effet, souhaité rencontrer dès le début de son mandat les dignitaires des territoires voisins, afin de se présenter et d’engager les premiers échanges dans le domaine de la coopération régionale. Le Président et le Gouverneur ont ainsi pu discuter des dossiers en cours, des actions de...
  Lire la suite
COM-LADOM, vers un partenariat renforcé
COM-LADOM, vers un partenariat renforcé - 2016-12-08
Le mardi 06 décembre, la Présidente Aline HANSON a reçu à l’hôtel de la collectivité, Messieurs Florus NESTAR Directeur général de LADOM et Raoul LEBRAVE Directeur Régional de LADOM. Il s’agissait pour les deux partenaires de dresser le bilan de leurs actions dans le cadre des dispositifs relatifs à la mobilité et d’évoquer la convention qui sera prochainement signée entre la COM et LADOM. L’objectif de cette rencontre a consisté à poser les...
  Lire la suite
Le ministre du tourisme d’Haïti en visite sur le territoire
Le ministre du tourisme d’Haïti en visite sur le territoire - 2016-12-07
Le conseiller territorial Louis Fleming, en charge de la coopération régionale, a reçu en collectivité, mardi 29 novembre 2016, monsieur Guy Didier Hyppolite, ministre du Tourisme et des Industries créatives d’Haïti. Accompagné de ses collaborateurs de cabinet, le ministre a effectué un déplacement aux Antilles, dans l’objectif de créer des liens et des opportunités touristiques inter-îles. L’échange entre Guy Didier Hyppolite et Louis Fleming a été tout...
  Lire la suite
INTERREG Caraïbes lance son premier appel à  manifestation d’intérêt (AMI) !
INTERREG Caraïbes lance son premier appel à manifestation d’intérêt (AMI) ! - 2016-10-25
" Le programme Interreg Caraïbes lance son 1er Appel à Manifestation d'Intérêt (AMI) du 25 octobre au 18 novembre 2016. Vous êtes une association, une entreprise publique ou privé? Vous avez une idée de projet avec la Caraïbe? Déposez votre projet dans le cadre du programme Interreg Caraïbes ! Le formulaire pré-projet est aussi disponible sur le site www.interreg-caraibes.fr Pour plus d'informations contactez le...
  Lire la suite
Le nouveau gouverneur du Lions Club International à  Saint-Martin
Le nouveau gouverneur du Lions Club International à Saint-Martin - 2016-10-21
La vice-présidente Rosette Gumbs-Lake a reçu Christian Calixte, nouveau gouverneur du Lions Club International, en visite à Saint-Martin, les 7 et 8 octobre 2016. Venu pour rencontrer les 4 clubs de Saint-Martin et Saint-Barthélemy, le gouverneur a également souhaité rendre une visite de courtoisie à l’exécutif territorial. Lors de cette rencontre, Christian Calixte était accompagné de son 1er vice-président Christian Colomb, de la secrétaire du District Anne-Marie Beaubrun, du...
  Lire la suite
Visite de courtoisie de M. Charles Savarin, président du commonwealth de la Dominique
Visite de courtoisie de M. Charles Savarin, président du commonwealth de la Dominique - 2016-10-20
La Présidente Aline HANSON a reçu en collectivité, vendredi 14 octobre 2016, son excellence Charles SAVARIN, président du commonwealth de la Dominique, accompagné de son épouse Clara SAVARIN. Invité sur le territoire par l’association Dominica Foundation de Saint-Martin, dans le cadre du 38e anniversaire de l’indépendance de la Dominique, le président SAVARIN a souhaité rendre une visite de courtoisie à l’exécutif local. Madame la présidente Aline HANSON était...
  Lire la suite
Conférence des RUP à  Madère
Conférence des RUP à Madère - 2016-09-28
XXIème conférence des présidents des RUP Du 21 au 24 septembre 2016 – Funchal – Madère La 21ème Conférence des Présidents des Régions ultra périphériques (RUP) de l’Europe s’est tenue à Funchal (Madère), du 21 au 24 septembre 2016. La Présidente Aline HANSON s’est rendue sur place pour représenter la collectivité de Saint-Martin. Parmi les temps forts de cette conférence, la session interne des...
  Lire la suite