Community News
The
2017-07-24
The
The feast of Grand-Case!
The feast of Grand-Case!
The feast of Grand-Case!
The feast of Grand-Case!
The feast of Grand-Case!
The feast of Grand-Case!
The feast of Grand-Case!
The feast of Grand-Case!
The feast of Grand-Case!
The feast of Grand-Case!
The energy deployed in the Grand-Case neighborhood by all those who participated in these 3 days of celebration was much appreciated by the revelers.

Everyone, through his simple presence, contributed to the success of the festival of Victor Schoelcher 2017.

A brief overview in pictures ...

*************************************

Speech by President Daniel Gibbs: The 21 July, Victor Schoelcher Party

The Prefect,
The Deputy,
Ladies and gentlemen, Vice-Presidents,
Ladies and Gentlemen, Territorial Advisers,
Mr President of the CESC,
Ladies and gentlemen, representatives of the District Councils,
Ladies and gentlemen,
Dear friends, hello everyone,
If there is a rendezvous fixed for our Community that I particularly like, it is that of the feast of Grand-Case.
It follows for a few days the rejoicing of the 14 July and the celebration of the motto of our Nation and our Republic, in order to follow in the same spirit, more local, both solemn and convivial, celebration of the unity of A village and an island proud of its heritage.
A legacy heavy to bear, for the feast of Grand Case is dedicated to Victor Schoelcher, whose determination and strength of conviction pushed the provisional government of the Second Republic to sign the XIXth decree of the abolition of slavery, The 2 April 27.
The feast of Grand Case is also the festival of the village, its inhabitants and its beautiful traditions and I thank in this regard all the people - and they will recognize - who contributed to the organization alongside the services of the community , To make this celebration a success.
These celebrations of the feast of Grand-Case obliges us thus an uncompromising reading of the world that surrounds us. With our day-to-day problems, but also by keeping our lucidity on modern slavery - the exploitation of human beings, organ trafficking, prostitution, begging and forced labor - And well in our country in 2017.
It takes diffuse, opaque forms against which it is complicated to struggle, as the independent body known as the National Consultative Commission on Human Rights recalls, but which we must all be aware of.
These celebrations of the feast of Grand Case also oblige us with a duty of remembrance, not only to the great man who was Victor Schoelcher, of course, but to all those, from Delgres to Toussaint Louverture, who Beaten to guarantee to all and forever a status of free man.
I also think of the abolitionist MP Martiniquais Auguste-François PERRINON, who lived and died in Saint-Martin in 1861, and who fought alongside Victor Schoelcher for the abolition of slavery in the West Indies.
Let us not believe that slavery would have been abolished naturally in the philanthropic and republican wake of a Paris guided by the humanist "Lights" of the XIXth and Nineteenth Centuries or in the comfortable armchairs of the hemicycles.
No, it is the chivalry and insurrection that have wavered the system in place and have challenged its economic profitability and its great ignominy.
Ladies and gentlemen,
Let us remember that freedom has not been granted to slaves: these men and women, our ancestors, have conquered it, they have snatched it from the force of their convictions and their struggles.
And thanks to the recognition that we address this morning to Victor Schoelcher, it is the testimony of our solidarity and respect for the struggles of our forefathers for more liberties, less oppression and escape from servitude, to which I wish to pay tribute this morning.
The tone is very serious, you will say, to open very officially this long weekend of rejoicing. For three days, Grand-Case and the Grand-Casiens are at the party.
I invite you to enjoy these privileged moments where it is so good to be together, in joy and in friendship.
Traditional boat races, games of yore, musical entertainment: so many highlights for a weekend that I wish to see happen in the utmost security.
And then, there will be fireworks, tonight at 21 hours, a much anticipated moment of our population.
I therefore appeal to the responsibility of each, so that this July 21 is successful and is not enamelled of any incident.
Once again, I would like to thank all the community agents and the volunteers of the associations of Saint-Martin who have mobilized to offer you this weekend of rejoicing.
To all, I wish a very beautiful feast of Grand-Case.
Thank you.


The
The - 2017-07-17
In honor of the national celebration of 14 July 2017, the PresdentGibbs delivered the following speech: PROTOCOL Ladies and Gentlemen, If you see me moved this morning, this July 14 is particularly charged with symbols in my eyes. First, because he is the first I celebrate as President of the Collectivity. But also of course, because this 14 July is the witness of a ...
Read more
The F
The F - 2017-07-07
You are officially invited to VictorSchoelcher's party, the 21 July 2017, in Grand Case. See invitation in ...
Read more
F
F - 2017-07-06
Please find enclosed the official invitation to the celebration of the National Day, Friday 14 July 2017 in Marigot, which will also celebrate the anniversary of the 10 years of the Community of ...
Read more
F
F - 2017-06-15
The community of Saint-Martin invites island musicians and groups of artists to come and celebrate music on Wednesday 21 June 2017, from 8H30 to 22H00. Like everywhere in France, the community of Saint-Martin will put sound sites at the disposal of the musicians in the different quarters of the island, so that they can occur. The musicians can play at their leisure, between 10 hours and 22 hours, at the Kiosque of Marigot, street of General de Gaulle, ...
Read more
Speeches
Speeches - 2017-05-27
Speech of the President Daniel Gibbes - The 27 May 2017. Ladies and Gentlemen, We thought, last year, that for the very last time, we would commemorate the abolition of slavery a 27 May. The historical research undertaken by our historian, Mrs Daniella Jeffry - whom I wish to salute this morning - and confirmed by the dynamic and very involved service of the Territorial Archives, had indeed led our Council ...
Read more
Fish Day: The Pr
Fish Day: The Pr - 2017-05-08
Speeches President GIBBES: Fish Day 2017 Edition Ladies and gentlemen, My dear friends, I welcome your presence today for this new edition of Fish Day and I would like to begin by thanking all the players for making it possible. The Community is the privileged conductor of these festivities and we can be proud of the growing success of the Fish Day, year after year ...
Read more
The
The - 2016-12-19
Come this Friday December 23 to the christmas party ofLOT, "Christmas 2016in ...
Read more
We Christmas : Venez fter Nol en musique ! - 2016-12-05
In the continuation of the Christmas Experience, which opened the Christmas festivities on Sunday 27 last November, the Community of Saint Martin continues its Christmas program, with a new evening of celebration, on Sunday 11 December 2016, from 17h30 to 21h30 , On the Marigot Waterfront. The Christmas truce has arrived, and with it the spirit of festivity and sharing that we so much appreciate in Saint-Martin. Entitled "We Christmas", this ...
Read more

Actualités de la collectivité
La fête de Grand-Case!
2017-07-24
La fête de Grand-Case!
La fête de Grand-Case!
La fête de Grand-Case!
La fête de Grand-Case!
La fête de Grand-Case!
La fête de Grand-Case!
La fête de Grand-Case!
La fête de Grand-Case!
La fête de Grand-Case!
La fête de Grand-Case!
La fête de Grand-Case!
L'énergie déployée dans le quartier de Grand-Case par toutes celles et ceux qui ont participé à ces 3 jours de célébration à été très apprécié des fêtards.

Chacun, par sa simple présence, a contribué à la réussite de la fête de Victor Schoelcher 2017.

Un bref aperçu en images…

*************************************

Discours du Président Daniel Gibbs: Le 21 juillet, Fête Victor Schoelcher

Madame la Préfète,
Madame la Député,
Mesdames et messieurs les vice-présidents,
Mesdames et messieurs les Conseillers territoriaux,
Monsieur le Président du CESC,
Mesdames et messieurs les représentants des Conseils de Quartier,
Mesdames et messieurs,
Chers amis, bonjour à tous,
S’il y a bien un rendez-vous fixé à notre Collectivité que j’affectionne particulièrement, c’est celui de la fête de Grand-Case.
Il suit de quelques jours les réjouissances du 14 juillet et la célébration de la devise de notre Nation et de notre République, pour s’inscrire dans le même esprit, plus local, à la fois solennel et convivial, de célébration de l’unité d’un village et d’une île fière de son héritage.
Un héritage lourd à porter, car la fête de Grand-Case est dédiée à Victor Schœlcher, dont la détermination et la force de conviction ont poussé le gouvernement provisoire de la deuxième République à signer le 2e décret de l’abolition de l’esclavage, le 27 avril 1848.
La fête de Grand Case est aussi celle du village, de ses habitants et de ses belles traditions et je remercie à cet égard l’ensemble des personnes – et elles se reconnaîtrons – qui ont contribué à l’organisation au côté des services de la collectivité, pour faire de cette célébration une réussite.
Ces célébrations de la fête de Grand-Case nous obligent ainsi à une lecture sans concession du monde qui nous entoure. Avec les problématiques quotidiennes qui sont les nôtres, mais aussi en gardant toute notre lucidité sur l’esclavage moderne - l’exploitation de l’être humain, le trafic d'organes, la prostitution, la mendicité et le travail forcés – qui existe bel et bien dans notre pays en 2017.
Il prend des formes diffuses, opaques contre lesquelles il est compliqué de lutter, comme le rappelle cette instance indépendante qu’est la Commission nationale consultative des droits de l'homme, mais dont nous devons tous avoir bien conscience.
Ces célébrations de la fête de Grand-Case nous obligent également à un devoir de mémoire, non seulement envers ce grand homme qu’a été Victor Schœlcher bien sûr, mais envers toutes celles et tous ceux, de Delgrès à Toussaint Louverture, qui se sont battus pour garantir à tous et pour toujours, un statut d’homme libre.
Je pense aussi au député abolitionniste Martiniquais Auguste-François PERRINON, qui a vécu et qui est mort à Saint-Martin en 1861, et qui a combattu au côté de Victor Schoelcher pour l’abolition de l’esclavage aux Antilles.
Gardons-nous ainsi de croire que l’esclavage aurait été aboli naturellement, dans le sillage philanthropique et républicain d’un Paris guidé par les « Lumières » humanistes des 18 et 19ème siècle ou dans les fauteuils confortables des hémicycles.
Non, ce sont les marronnages et les insurrections qui ont fait vacillé le système en place et qui ont remis en question sa rentabilité économique et sa grande ignominie.
Mesdames et Messieurs,
Souvenons-nous que la liberté n'a pas été octroyée aux esclaves : ces hommes et ces femmes, nos ancêtres, l'ont conquise, ils l’ont arrachée à la force de leurs convictions et de leurs combats.
Et à travers la reconnaissance que nous adressons ce matin à Victor Schœlcher, c’est le témoignage de notre solidarité et de notre respect pour les luttes menées par nos aïeux pour plus de libertés, moins d’oppression et pour échapper à la servitude, auquel je souhaite rendre hommage ce matin.
Le ton est bien grave me direz-vous, pour ouvrir très officiellement ce long week-end de réjouissances. Pendant trois jours en effet, Grand-Case et les Grand-Casiens sont à la fête.
Je vous invite à profiter de ces moments privilégiés où il fait si bons être ensemble, dans la joie et dans l’amitié.
Courses de bateaux traditionnels, jeux d’autrefois, animations musicales : autant de temps forts pour un week-end que je souhaite voir se dérouler dans la plus grande sécurité.
Et puis, il y aura le feu d’artifice, ce soir à 21 heures, un moment très attendu de notre population.
J’en appelle ainsi à la responsabilité de chacun, pour que ce 21 juillet soit couronné de succès et ne soit émaillé d’aucun incident.
Je souhaite à nouveau remercier l’ensemble des agents de la Collectivité et les bénévoles des associations de Saint-Martin qui se sont mobilisés pour vous offrir ce week-end de réjouissances.
A toutes et à tous, je souhaite une très belle fête de Grand-Case.
Je vous remercie.


La célébration d'une belle fête Nationale
La célébration d'une belle fête Nationale - 2017-07-17
A l'honneur de la fête nationale du 14 juillet 2017,le PrésdentGibbs à prononcé le discours suivant: PROTOCOLE Mesdames et Messieurs, Si vous me voyez ému, devant vous ce matin, c’est que ce 14 juillet est particulièrement chargé de symboles à mes yeux. D’abord, parce qu’il est le premier que je célèbre en tant que Président de la Collectivité. Mais aussi bien sûr, parce que ce 14 juillet est le témoin d’une...
  Lire la suite
La Fête de Victor Schoelcher 2017
La Fête de Victor Schoelcher 2017 - 2017-07-07
Vous êtes officiellement convierà la fête de VictorSchoelcher, le 21 juillet 2017, à Grand Case. Voir invitation en...
  Lire la suite
Fête nationale du 14 juillet 2017
Fête nationale du 14 juillet 2017 - 2017-07-06
Veuillez trouver ci-joint l’invitation officielle à la célébration de la fête Nationale, vendredi 14 juillet 2017 à Marigot, qui célèbrera par la même occasion l’anniversaire des 10 ans de la Collectivité de...
  Lire la suite
Fête de la musique 2017 : Come and celebrate everywhere on the island !
Fête de la musique 2017 : Come and celebrate everywhere on the island ! - 2017-06-15
La collectivité de Saint-Martin invite les musiciens de l’île et les groupes d’artistes à venir célébrer la musique, mercredi 21 juin 2017, de8H30 à 22H00. Comme partout en France, la collectivité de Saint-Martin mettra des sites sonorisés à disposition des musiciens dans les différents quartiers de l’île, pour qu’ils puissent se produire. Les musiciens pourront jouer à leur guise, entre 10 heures et 22 heures, au Kiosque de Marigot, rue du général de Gaulle,...
  Lire la suite
Discours du Président: Commémoration de l'Abolition de l'Esclavage
Discours du Président: Commémoration de l'Abolition de l'Esclavage - 2017-05-27
Discours du Président Daniel Gibbes- Le 27 mai 2017. Mesdames et Messieurs, Nous pensions, l’année dernière, que pour la toute dernière fois, nous commémorerions l’abolition de l’esclavage un 27 mai. Les recherches historiques engagées par notre historienne, Madame Daniella Jeffry - que je tiens à saluer ce matin- et confirmées par le dynamique et très impliqué service des Archives Territoriales, avaient en effet conduit notre Conseil...
  Lire la suite
Fish Day: Le Président Gibbs veut soutenir la pêche traditionnelle
Fish Day: Le Président Gibbs veut soutenir la pêche traditionnelle - 2017-05-08
Discours Président GIBBES: Fish Day édition 2017 Mesdames et messieurs, Mes chers amis, Je me réjouis de votre présence aujourd’hui pour cette nouvelle édition du Fish Day et je voudrais en préambule en remercier tous les acteurs de l’avoir rendu possible. La Collectivité est le chef d’orchestre privilégié de ces festivités et nous pouvons être fiers du succès croissant que rencontre le Fish Day, année après...
  Lire la suite
L’Office de tourisme fête Noël !
L’Office de tourisme fête Noël ! - 2016-12-19
Venez nombreux ce vendredi 23 décembre à la fête de noël deL'OT, "Christmas 2016in...
  Lire la suite
« We Christmas » : Venez fêter Noël en musique !
« We Christmas » : Venez fêter Noël en musique ! - 2016-12-05
Dans la continuité du « Christmas Experience », qui a ouvert les festivités de Noël, dimanche 27 novembre dernier, la Collectivité de Saint-Martin poursuit sa programmation de Noël, avec une nouvelle soirée de célébration, dimanche 11 décembre 2016, de 17h30 à 21h30, sur le Front de mer de Marigot. La trêve de Noël est arrivée, et avec elle l’esprit de fête et de partage que nous apprécions tant à Saint-Martin. Intitulé « We Christmas », cet...
  Lire la suite