Community News
The Pr
2017-07-10
The Pr
President Daniel Gibbs announced in preamble of the territorial council on Thursday 29 June 2017, several projects have been launched since its arrival at the head the territorial executive, the 02 last April. The tourist strategy defining the axes of development for the 10 next years was presented to the tourism professionals and representatives of the socio-professional organizations of the territory during a meeting organized by the Community Tourism Directorate at the Beach Hotel in Marigot, on the initiative of the President.
It is a flagship project of the TeamGibbs17 mandate, which made the promise during its election campaign by making strong commitments before the Saint-Martinois to make economic development a top priority of its mandate. To make this presentation, the President surrounded himself with his vice-presidents, Valérie Damaseau and Yawo Nyuiadzi, elected officials and members of his team.

A sustainable tourism strategy
At the origin of the first tourism strategy initiated on the territory in 2010, President Daniel Gibbs wished, from his arrival at the head of the community, to launch the construction of the new tourism strategy, with the will to set the framework of Sustainable development of this key sector of our economy.
After the preparation of the community tax audit that will start in the last quarter of 2017 and the vote of a supplementary budget of 6 million euros which takes into account several flagship measures of the TeamGibbs17 policy project, the President and his majority Have worked on the main economic policy axes, in particular the sustainable tourism strategy with a plan of action on 10 years (2017-2027).
As the President said, "sustainable development is a development that meets the needs of present generations without compromising the ability of future generations".
The objective is to initiate tourism in the service of Saint-Martin and Saint-Martin, with predefined sustainability criteria, such as respect for ecology, economic viability and ethical and social equity For the populations.
Presented in broad outline to the socio-professionals - who responded many times at the invitation of the President of the community last Thursday - the new strategy was greeted with enthusiasm.

The President spoke of the urgent need to structure the destination, this framework strategy having been built around a coherence of carefully studied actions encompassing all the public policies of our Community: employment, town planning, education , Safety or the environment, while respecting the general interest. Planning on 10 years will reassure investors (local and foreign) on the legal certainty of the chosen orientations.

Creation of a Council and a Tourism Committee at the beginning of the school year
Once the strategy has been validated by the Territorial Council at the beginning of the school year, a Tourism Council and a Tourism Committee will be set up to steer its implementation. The contributions of elected representatives, community leaders and professionals in the sector will then enrich the content of the strategic axes selected, with a view to transversality and consultation with those who are in the front line.
"An economic development plan will be launched with the same aim, with the aim of defining a strategic roadmap for the traditional sectors of activity of Saint Martin (fishing - agriculture - crafts) and to guarantee a Better diversification of our economy, particularly in innovative areas such as digital or energy transition. "He explained.
With the support of socio-professionals, President Daniel Gibbs also mentioned his intention to give a clear, coherent and realistic vision to tourism professionals, investors and institutional partners, again according to the working method that characterizes it: simplification, Coherence and effectiveness.


Saint-Martin makes
Saint-Martin makes - 2017-05-12
The community of Saint-Martin was present at the Paris Fair, from 27 April to 08 May 2017, in the pavilion overseas alongside Guadeloupe, Martinique, Guyana and Reunion. As was the case last year, the community of Saint-Martin had relied on a visible presence at the heart of this Parisian rendezvous for visitors from all over France. For its second year of participation, the community of Saint-Martin has bet ...
Read more
Call
Call - 2017-03-28
For the second edition of the Paris Fair, the Collectivité de Saint-Martin is launching a call for exhibitors to invite them to join the Institutional and Restoration stands of the community of Saint-Martin. The Community wishes to offer Saint-Martin socio-professionals the opportunity to participate in this important commercial opportunity. Future exhibitors will have from 4 to 12 days to present and sell their products in a commercial context ...
Read more
Monacco Fair of the 06 at the 10 October 2016
Monacco Fair of the 06 at the 10 October 2016 - 2016-10-19
The community of Saint-Martin was present at the Monaco Fair of 06 in 10 October 2016, the autumnal rendezvous of the Principality. Represented by Vice-President Wendel COCKS, in charge of economic development of the territory, the community of Saint-Martin has been able to make valuable contacts and promote its tourism assets and its tax attractiveness. Located in a space specially dedicated to overseas, the booth of ...
Read more
Saint-Martin
Saint-Martin - 2016-06-01
President Aline Hanson is currently traveling to Cuba as part of the 7 Summit of the Association of Caribbean States, held in Havana, from 02 to 04 June 2016. The President was the first of the delegations invited to tread Cuban soil on Tuesday night. She was welcomed on the tarmac at the Jose Marti airport in Havana by the Cuban Minister of Justice Maria Esther REUS. The President welcomed a ...
Read more
French NATO Party
French NATO Party - 2016-05-26
The overseas collectivity of Saint-Martin and the Tourist Office of Saint-Martin participated, Thursday 26 May 2016, in the "French Party" organized by the Representation of France to NATO. This promotional event, which 1500 was expected to host, was held at NATO Headquarters in Brussels. The French Party aims to promote the culture, artisanal, culinary and technological know-how of the ...
Read more
Jeanne Rogers-Vanterpool intervenes at S
Jeanne Rogers-Vanterpool intervenes at S - 2016-05-19
On Thursday 19 last May 2016, in partnership with the Chambers of Commerce of Guadeloupe, Guyana, Martinique, Saint-Barthélemy, Saint-Martin, Saint-Pierre and Miquelon and the Federation of Overseas Companies, (FEDOM), the Senate delegation overseas organized an economic conference on the theme "Challenges and Opportunities for French Communities in the Americas" in the Senate. At the round table ...
Read more
Teachers take to the world of tourism
Teachers take to the world of tourism - 2016-04-25
The last two modules of the "Teaching tourism in Saint-Martin" training, organized by the National Education in partnership with its partners the Community and the Tourist Office of Saint-Martin, took place the 21 and 22 April 2016 . After the modules of 12 and 13 in April, the 25 trainees of the "Teaching tourism in Saint-Martin" training were received at the 5 hotel, Belmond La Samanna, Terres-Basses, for the ...
Read more
Tourism Training
Tourism Training - 2016-04-12
The President of the Territorial Council, Aline Hanson, the President of the Tourist Office, Jeanne Vanterpool-Rogers and the Head of Education, Michel Sanz, officially launched the "Teaching tourism in Saint-Martin" 'A ceremony, held at the hotel of the community, on Tuesday 12 April 2016. 25 teachers are currently taking this training, which will allow them to teach tourism in the colleges of the island, ...
Read more

Actualités de la collectivité
Le Président Gibbs présente la nouvelle stratégie touristique aux socioprofessionnels
2017-07-10
Le Président Gibbs présente la nouvelle stratégie touristique aux socioprofessionnels
Le Président Daniel Gibbs l’a annoncé en préambule du conseil territorial, jeudi 29 juin 2017, plusieurs chantiers ont été lancés depuis son arrivée à la tête l’exécutif territorial, le 02 avril dernier. La stratégie touristique définissant les axes de développement pour les 10 prochaines années a été présentée, le jour même, aux professionnels du tourisme et aux représentants des organisations socioprofessionnelles du territoire, lors d’une rencontre orchestrée par la Direction du tourisme de la collectivité au Beach Hôtel à Marigot, à l’initiative du Président.
C’est un projet phare de la mandature TeamGibbs17, qui en avait fait la promesse lors de sa campagne électorale en prenant des engagements forts devant les Saint-Martinois pour faire du développement économique une grande priorité de son mandat. Pour effectuer cette présentation, le Président s’est entouré de ses vice-présidents, Valérie Damaseau et Yawo Nyuiadzi, des élus et des membres de son équipe.

Une stratégie de tourisme durable
A l’origine de la première stratégie touristique initiée sur le territoire en 2010, le Président Daniel Gibbs a souhaité, dès son arrivée à la tête de la collectivité, lancer le chantier de la nouvelle stratégie touristique, avec la volonté de fixer le cadre d’un développement durable de ce secteur clef de notre économie.
Après la préparation de l’audit fiscal de la collectivité qui débutera au dernier trimestre 2017 et le vote d’un budget supplémentaire de 6 millions d’euros qui prend en compte plusieurs mesures phares du projet politique de la TeamGibbs17, le Président et sa majorité ont travaillé sur les grands axes de la politique économique, en particulier la stratégie touristique qui s’inscrit dans la durabilité avec un plan d’action sur 10 ans (2017-2027).
Comme l’a indiqué le Président, « le développement durable est un développement qui répond aux besoins des générations présentes sans compromettre la capacité des générations futures ».
L’objectif est d’initier un tourisme au service des Saint-Martinois et de Saint-Martin, avec des critères de durabilité prédéfinis, tels que le respect de l’écologie, la viabilité économique et l’équité sur le plan éthique et social pour les populations.
Présentée dans ses grandes lignes aux socioprofessionnels - qui ont répondu nombreux à l’invitation du Président de la collectivité jeudi dernier - la nouvelle stratégie a été accueillie avec enthousiasme.

Le Président a évoqué la nécessité urgente de structurer la destination, cette stratégie cadre ayant été construite autour d’une cohérence d’actions minutieusement étudiées englobant l’ensemble des politiques publiques de notre Collectivité : l’emploi, l’urbanisme, l’éducation, la sécurité ou encore l’environnement, dans le respect de l’intérêt général. La planification sur 10 ans permettra de rassurer les investisseurs (locaux et étrangers) sur la sécurité juridique des orientations choisies.

Création d’un Conseil et d’un Comité du tourisme à la rentrée
Une fois la stratégie validée par le Conseil territorial à la rentrée, un Conseil du tourisme et un Comité du tourisme seront créés pour piloter sa mise en œuvre. Les contributions des élus, des directions de la collectivité et des professionnels du secteur, viendront alors enrichir le contenu des axes stratégiques retenus, dans un souci de transversalité et de concertation avec ceux qui sont en première ligne.
Le Président y tient, « Un schéma de développement économique sera initié dans le même élan, dans le but de définir une feuille de route stratégique pour les secteurs d’activité traditionnels de Saint-Martin (pêche - agriculture - artisanat) et de garantir une meilleure diversification de notre économie, notamment dans des domaines innovants comme le numérique ou la transition énergétique. », a-t-il expliqué.
Fort du soutien des socioprofessionnels, le Président Daniel Gibbs a en outre mentionné son intention de donner un cap clair, cohérent et réaliste aux professionnels du tourisme, aux investisseurs et aux partenaires institutionnels, toujours selon la méthode de travail qui le caractérise : la simplification, la cohérence et l’efficacité.


Saint-Martin fait des émules à  la Foire de Paris!
Saint-Martin fait des émules à la Foire de Paris! - 2017-05-12
La collectivité de Saint-Martin était présente à la Foire de Paris, du 27 avril au 08 mai 2017, dans le pavillon outre-mer aux côtés de la Guadeloupe, de la Martinique, de la Guyane et de la Réunion. Comme l’an passé, la collectivité de Saint-Martin avait misé sur une présence visible au cœur de ce rendez-vous parisien incontournable pour les visiteurs venus de toute la France. Pour sa deuxième année de participation, la collectivité de Saint-Martin a misé sur le...
  Lire la suite
Appel à  candidature exposants: Foire de Paris du 27 au 7 Mai 2017
Appel à candidature exposants: Foire de Paris du 27 au 7 Mai 2017 - 2017-03-28
Pour la deuxième édition de la Foire de Paris, la Collectivité de Saint-Martin lance un appel à candidature aux exposants pour les inviter à rejoindre les stands Institutionnel et Restauration de la collectivité de Saint-Martin. La Collectivité souhaite offrir aux socioprofessionnels de Saint-Martin la possibilité de participer à cette opportunité commerciale d’envergure. Les futurs exposants auront de 4 à 12 jours pour présenter et vendre leurs produits dans un contexte commercial...
  Lire la suite
La Foire de Monacco du 06 au 10 octobre 2016
La Foire de Monacco du 06 au 10 octobre 2016 - 2016-10-19
La collectivité de Saint-Martin était présente à la Foire de Monaco du 06 au 10 octobre 2016, le rendez-vous automnal de la Principauté. Représentée par le vice-président Wendel COCKS, en charge du développement économique du territoire, la collectivité de Saint-Martin a pu nouer de précieux contacts et faire valoir ses atouts touristiques et son attractivité fiscale. Situé au sein d’un espace spécialement dédiée à l’outre-mer, le stand de...
  Lire la suite
Saint-Martin à  Cuba
Saint-Martin à Cuba - 2016-06-01
La Président Aline Hanson est actuellement en déplacement à Cuba, dans le cadre du 7e Sommet de l’association des Etats de la Caraïbe, qui se tient à la Havane, du 02 au 04 juin 2016. La Présidente a été la première parmi les délégations invitées à fouler le sol cubain, mardi soir. Elle a été accueillie sur le tarmac de l’aéroport Jose MARTI de la Havane, par la Ministre de la Justice cubaine, Maria Esther REUS. La Présidente a salué un...
  Lire la suite
French Party OTAN
French Party OTAN - 2016-05-26
La Collectivité d’Outre-mer de Saint-Martin et l’Office de Tourisme de Saint-Martin ont participé, jeudi 26 mai 2016, à la « French Party » organisée par la Représentation de la France auprès de l’OTAN. Cet évènement promotionnel auquel étaient attendus 1500 à 2000visiteurs, s’est déroulé au siège de l’OTAN à Bruxelles. La French Party a pour objectif de promouvoir la culture, le savoir-faire artisanal, culinaire et technologique des...
  Lire la suite
Jeanne Rogers-Vanterpool intervient au Sénat sur la question du tourisme
Jeanne Rogers-Vanterpool intervient au Sénat sur la question du tourisme - 2016-05-19
Le jeudi 19 mai 2016 dernier, en partenariat avec les chambres de commerce de Guadeloupe, de Guyane, de Martinique, de Saint-Barthélemy, de Saint-Martin, de Saint-Pierre-et-Miquelon et la Fédération des entreprises d'outre-mer (FEDOM), la délégation sénatoriale à l'outre-mer a organisé, au Sénat,une conférence économique sur le thème "Défis et opportunités pour les collectivités françaises des Amériques". Lors de la table ronde...
  Lire la suite
Les enseignants s'mmergent dans le monde du tourisme
Les enseignants s'mmergent dans le monde du tourisme - 2016-04-25
Les deux derniers modules de la formation «Enseigner le tourisme à Saint-Martin», dispensée par l’Education Nationale en partenariat avec ses partenaires la Collectivité et l’Office de tourisme de Saint-Martin, ont eu lieu les 21 et 22 avril 2016. Après les modules du 12 et 13 avril, les 25 stagiaires de la formation «Enseigner le tourisme à Saint-Martin»ont été reçus à l’hôtel 5 étoiles Belmond La Samanna, aux Terres-Basses, pour le...
  Lire la suite
Formation Tourisme
Formation Tourisme - 2016-04-12
La Présidente du conseil territorial, Aline Hanson, la Présidente de l’Office de Tourisme, Jeanne Vanterpool-Rogers et le chef de l’Eduction, Michel Sanz, ont officiellement lancé la formation «Enseigner le tourisme à Saint-Martin», lors d’une cérémonie, qui s’est tenue à l’hôtel de la collectivité, le mardi 12 avril 2016. 25 enseignants suivent actuellement cette formation, qui leur permettra d’enseigner le tourisme dans les collèges de l’île,...
  Lire la suite