Community News
On f
2017-07-17
On f
We celebrate the 10 years of the Collectivité Territoriale de Saint-Martin!
We celebrate the 10 years of the Collectivité Territoriale de Saint-Martin!
We celebrate the 10 years of the Collectivité Territoriale de Saint-Martin!
President Daniel Gibbs, received his guests on Friday 14 last July, to celebrate the 10 years of existence of the Community of Saint Martin. A retrospective film was presented to trace the 10 years since the new status.

Speech by Mr. Daniel Gibbs:

Ladies and gentlemen,
We're missing someone here this morning. And this absence, which leaves a great void and many orphaned Saint-Martinois, is Aline Hanson. I would like to dedicate the following film, my remarks and the celebrations organized this weekend for the tenth anniversary of our Community, in memory of Madam President.
I also wish to have a thought for our friend and colleague Mr. Pierre Brangé, who is very knowledgeable about our status, still hospitalized in the Paris region and whose state of health remains very fragile. I was even more moved by the fact that at the time, the Mayor had entrusted Pierre, who was a young jurist and I, a young elected official, to follow up on the work on the elaboration of our new statute.
XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
Ladies and gentlemen, the young overseas collectivity of Saint-Martin is celebrating its tenth anniversary.
In the wake of Saint-Barthélemy and under the impetus of Mayor Albert Fleming, we made the choice of an original statute: that of Collectivité d ' Governed by Article 7 of the Constitution.
The sorrowful and doubtful minds then counted on the fingers of the hand. The time was then for the unity of the political class and an unprecedented emulation surrounded the work for the elaboration of a territory that we all, together, could think, shape, reinvent, and from a status to Map closer to our realities, our stakes, our specificities.
Finally, Saint-Martin was going to find an institutional and legal balance perfectly adapted to this particular identity that is our pride! Finally, the Saint-Martinois would have the means to make their singular voice heard and to defend their own interests within the Republic!
And everything would be fine, since the State had promised to accompany our statutory evolution and that it guaranteed to us the just compensation for the transfers of the broadened powers that we were going to inherit.
It is therefore confident - naïve perhaps a little, I admit - that in 2007, there are 10 years, we entered a new era, on a territory whose future looked more lenient, more Prosperous and clearer.
It was 10 years ago ...
The institutional stability that was necessary for our economic development today has the appearance of missed appointments.
I spare you the often painful traveling of the chaotic decade that we have just crossed: you, I, all of us, were the actors and the witnesses.
A simple statement: hope has succeeded disenchantment.
I ask the question, in light of what we have been through since 10 years: and if it was to redo?
Perhaps then, it would be the supporters of the 74 who would count on the fingers of the hand.
Well, I'll be one of them.
And even if I pass for a Don Quixote, I tell you: I remain a fervent defender of the 74. I believe in 74. I remain convinced that this formidable toolbox that is our status remains the right choice for Saint Martin.
That it is endowed with a rather wobbly, sometimes illegible, often incomplete mode of employment, but that in applied artisans, conscientious managers, enlightened citizens, we will know how to make it work fully, To assure the Saint-Martin's the development to which they are entitled, and to Saint-Martin the attractiveness and the radiance to which it can and must claim.
The difficulties, obstacles and setbacks experienced by our collectivity since its advent by the crisis-the economic, political and social crises-must not make us forget that period of hope and emulation which preceded accession To our new status.
I invite everyone to revive this fruitful period: there is no fatality to the difficulties we are experiencing today; Our multiple problems will not find their resolution in wait-and-see.
They will be regulated by work, hard work, collective work to defend our specificities, to make our voices heard and to be fully respected within the Nation. Together we will build a future of development for our island.
It is on this message, I believe, that the new majority which I have had the honor of leading for a quarter has been widely elected. And yes, there are many challenges ahead.
As the first Member of Parliament for Saint-Barthélemy and Saint-Martin, I had the opportunity to conduct a parliamentary information mission on our Community, 3 years ago. The findings and the proposals that I made then remain, in my view, topical: we must strengthen the coherence of our governance and the participation of civil society; But also to improve cooperation between the State and our collectivity, particularly in the field of taxation, to better fight the scourge of delinquency, to rethink our regional integration by re-examining our role within the European Union or to establish cooperation worthy of this Name with Sint Maarten. These are some of the many challenges ahead. But we are ready.
We, the Saint-Martinois, must live up to the demands of our overseas collectivity status. By ceasing, for example, I spoke earlier, to operate according to a scheme, landmarks and communal codes. By taking our responsibilities, and they are numerous.
We, the Saint-Martinois, have duties: we are going to fill them.
But we also have rights. And, with the same fervor and firmness, I intend to make them heard and respected.
This involves an arm-wrestling with the State, in particular on the issue of just compensation for transfers of office and powers. We still have a small window to use litigation on several files, I intend to study everything.
This also involves renewed relations with the State: the 74 is, I repeat, a strengthening of the presence of the State on our territory, and therefore in no case by interference of the State in the affairs of Saint -Martin.
I remember a minister who had responded to my hon. Member's just demands on the issue of compensation for our territory of the CICE system, that Saint Martin was paying "the ransom of accountability": this infantilization of our Community That too long, it is necessary to impulse a new dynamic. I am fortunate to be able to work with Madam the Prefect, who has understood the challenges of this new dynamic and with which I have very good relations. The state must understand that Saint Martin is henceforth a partner, in no case a vassal.
The words are strong, but they will be followed by effects, I promise. Because we can not continue to suffer the disadvantages of a de facto connection with Guadeloupe, which undermines our proper functioning, deepens our deficits and remains totally contrary to the very spirit of the statute. We fulfill the imperatives we have set ourselves, we must be able to benefit from the guarantees and the services provided for by this statute.
We will also have to perfect our status - since, as you are aware, some of the skills that have been assigned to us are not fully developed - we will have to groom and complete the organic law that governs us in the months to come. I wish the active participation of all the elected representatives and all the actors of our Community for this great work of reflection which will engage the institutional future of our Collectivity. I know that we can count on our member to take over all the demands of our community and I look forward to the excellent cooperation that has taken place between us, Madame Javois Guion-Firmin and myself.
St. Martin needs collective intelligence. Our Collectivity needs men and women who are looking in the same direction and who have the same will to restore the island to development, success and progress. I know that many of them are in front of me today.
I will stop here and let you discover the film made by the teams of the Collectivité for this celebration of the tenth anniversary of the accession to our status. I would like to pay tribute to the high-quality work carried out by the audiovisual unit of the communication department of the Community. Congratulations to all.
Once again, I wish you, I wish you, very beautiful rejoicings in this July 14.
Thank you.


Message F
Message F - 2017-05-28
"On this Sunday 28 May, I want to honor on behalf of our community all the mothers of St. Martin. The members of the Territorial Council join me in addressing to each of them an excellent feast, full of joy and happiness shared. This special day is the occasion to greet the unconditional love that mothers carry to their children, their courage and their benevolence. We all have a part of our mother in us, a mother's love reassures, protects, ...
Read more
F
F - 2017-01-04
"The community of Saint-Martin welcomes Miss Saint-Martin-Saint-Barthélemy, Anaëlle Hyppolite, who participated brilliantly in the Miss France 2017 beauty contest. Our young lady received a well-deserved warm welcome on her return to the country on Tuesday. We can be proud of the way she has served our two overseas communities. Because of its relevance and the quality of its performance on the stage of the Arena ...
Read more
Tribute to the Harkis
Tribute to the Harkis - 2016-09-30
On Sunday 25, September 2016, a solemn tribute was given in front of the community memorial to the Harkis and other members of the supplementary formations, in the presence of Vice-President Ramona Connor, Senator Guillaume Arnell and Deputy Prefect Thierry Malher, Secretary general of the prefecture of Saint-Martin and Saint-Barthélemy.
Read more
Minute of silence
Minute of silence - 2016-07-19
A minute of silence was observed, Monday 18 July 2016, at noon, before the Monument to the Dead of Saint-Martin, in tribute to the victims of the attack committed in Nice on the evening of 14 July. President Aline Hanson, Prefect Anne Laubies, territorial representatives, Commander Jean-Luc Deras, Head of the SPAF in Saint-Martin, members of the forces of law and civil society took part in this official tribute Observed throughout the territory ...
Read more
R
R - 2016-07-13
I learned with sadness that a new homicide occurred in Saint-Martin on Wednesday, July 13, in the area of ​​Mont Vernon. A sixty-year-old woman was subjected to a bullet attack that was fatal to her. I extend my heartfelt condolences to the family and relatives of the victim. The territorial council of Saint-Martin joins me in conveying all our support and that of our people. It is particularly difficult to see that this ...
Read more

Actualités de la collectivité
On fête les 10 ans de la Collectivité Territoriale de Saint-Martin!
2017-07-17
On fête les 10 ans de la Collectivité Territoriale de Saint-Martin!
On fête les 10 ans de la Collectivité Territoriale de Saint-Martin!
On fête les 10 ans de la Collectivité Territoriale de Saint-Martin!
On fête les 10 ans de la Collectivité Territoriale de Saint-Martin!
Le Président Daniel Gibbs, a reçu ses convives le vendredi 14 juillet dernier, pour célébrer les 10 ans d'existence de la Collectivité de Saint-Martin. Un film rétrospectif a été présenté pour retracer les 10 années depuis le nouveau statut.

Discours de M. Daniel Gibbs:

Mesdames et Messieurs,
Il manque quelqu’un parmi nous ce matin. Et cette absente, qui laisse un grand vide et bon nombre de Saint-Martinois orphelins, c’est Aline Hanson. J’aimerais dédier le film qui va suivre, mes propos et les réjouissances organisées ce week-end pour le dixième anniversaire de notre Collectivité, à la mémoire de Madame la Présidente.
Je souhaite également avoir une pensée pour notre ami et collègue Monsieur Pierre Brangé, fin connaisseur de notre statut, toujours hospitalisé en région parisienne et dont l’état de santé demeure très fragile. Je suis d’autant plus ému qu’à l’époque Monsieur le Maire nous avait confié à Pierre, alors jeune juriste et moi, jeune élu, le suivi des travaux sur l’élaboration de notre nouveau statut.
XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
Mesdames et Messieurs, la jeune Collectivité d’outremer de Saint-Martin fête son dixième anniversaire.
Un bon en arrière : le 7 décembre 2003, par 76,3% des suffrages exprimés, nous faisions, dans le sillage de Saint-Barthélemy et sous l’impulsion du Maire Albert Fleming, le choix d’un statut original : celui de Collectivité d’outremer régie par l’article 74 de la Constitution.
Les esprits chagrins et les dubitatifs se comptaient alors sur les doigts de la main. L’heure était alors à l’unité de la classe politique et une émulation sans précédent entourait les travaux pour l’élaboration d’un territoire que nous allions, tous ensemble, pouvoir penser, façonner, réinventer, et d’un statut à la carte plus proche de nos réalités, de nos enjeux, de nos spécificités.
Enfin, Saint-Martin allait trouver un équilibre institutionnel et juridique parfaitement adapté à cette identité particulière qui fait notre fierté ! Enfin, les Saint-Martinois allaient avoir les moyens de faire entendre leur voix singulière et de défendre leurs intérêts propres au sein de la République !
Et tout irait bien, puisque l’Etat s’était engagé à accompagner notre évolution statutaire et qu’il nous garantissait la juste compensation des transferts des compétences élargies dont nous allions hériter.
C’est donc confiants – naïfs peut-être un peu, j’en conviens – qu’en 2007, il y a 10 ans, nous entrions dans une nouvelle ère, sur un territoire dont l’avenir s’annonçait plus clément, plus prospère et plus clair.
C’était il y a 10 ans…
La stabilité institutionnelle qui était nécessaire à notre développement économique a aujourd’hui des allures de rendez-vous manqué.
Je vous épargne le travelling douloureux souvent, de la décennie chaotique que nous venons de traverser : vous, moi, nous tous, en avons été les acteurs et les témoins.
Un constat simplement : à l’espoir a succédé le désenchantement.
Je pose la question, à la lumière de ce que nous avons traversé depuis 10 ans : et si c’était à refaire ?
Peut-être qu’alors, ce serait les partisans du 74 qui se compteraient sur les doigts de la main.
Et bien, je serai de ceux-là.
Et quitte à passer pour un Don Quichotte, je vous le dis : je reste un fervent défenseur du 74. Je crois au 74. Je reste convaincu que cette formidable boite à outils qu’est notre statut demeure le bon choix pour Saint-Martin.
Qu’elle est dotée d’un mode d’emploi certes un peu bancal, parfois illisible, souvent incomplet, mais qu’en artisans appliqués, qu’en gestionnaires consciencieux, qu’en citoyens éclairés, nous saurons la faire fonctionner pleinement, pour assurer aux Saint-Martinois le développement auquel ils ont droit, et à Saint-Martin l’attractivité et le rayonnement auxquels elle peut et doit prétendre.
Les difficultés, les obstacles, les revers essuyés depuis son avènement par notre Collectivité, frappée par la crise - par les crises économiques, politiques, sociales - ne doivent pas faire oublier cette période d’espoir et d’émulation qui a précédé l’accession à notre nouveau statut.
J’invite tout un chacun à faire revivre cette période féconde : il n’y a aucune fatalité aux difficultés que nous éprouvons aujourd’hui ; nos multiples problématiques ne trouveront pas leur résolution dans l’attentisme.
Elles se règleront par le travail, un travail acharné, un travail collectif pour défendre nos spécificités, faire entendre et faire respecter pleinement notre voix au sein de la Nation. C’est ensemble que nous bâtirons un avenir de développement pour notre île.
C’est sur ce message, je le crois, que la nouvelle majorité que j’ai l’honneur de conduire depuis un trimestre a été très largement élue. Et oui, les défis qui nous attendent sont nombreux.
Comme premier député de Saint-Barthélemy et Saint-Martin, j’ai eu l’occasion de mener une mission d’information parlementaire sur notre Collectivité il y a 3 ans. Le constat et les propositions que j’émettais alors, restent à mes yeux d’actualité : il nous faut renforcer la cohérence de notre gouvernance et la participation de la société civile ; mais aussi améliorer la collaboration entre l’Etat et notre Collectivité notamment dans le domaine fiscal, mieux lutter contre le fléau de la délinquance, repenser notre intégration régionale en réinterrogeant notre rôle au sein de l’Union Européenne ou encore assoir une coopération digne de ce nom avec Sint Maarten. Voilà quelques-uns des nombreux défis qui nous attendent. Mais nous sommes prêts.
Nous, les Saint-Martinois, nous devons nous montrer à la hauteur des exigences auxquelles nous oblige notre statut de Collectivité d’outremer. En cessant par exemple, j’en ai parlé tout à l’heure, de fonctionner selon un schéma, des repères et des codes communaux. En prenant à bras le corps nos responsabilités, et elles sont nombreuses.
Nous, les Saint-Martinois, avons des devoirs : nous allons les remplir.
Mais nous avons aussi des droits. Et, avec la même ferveur et la même fermeté, j’entends les faire entendre et respecter.
Cela passe par un bras de fer avec l’Etat, notamment sur la question de la juste compensation des transferts de charges et compétences. Il nous reste une petite fenêtre pour recourir au contentieux sur plusieurs dossiers, j’entends tout étudier.
Cela passe également par des relations renouvelées avec l’Etat : le 74 est, je le rappelle, un renforcement de la présence de l’Etat sur notre territoire, et donc en aucun cas par une ingérence de l’Etat dans les affaires de Saint-Martin.
Je me souviens d’une ministre qui avait répondu à mes justes requêtes de député sur le sujet de la compensation pour notre territoire du dispositif CICE, que Saint-Martin payait « la rançon de la responsabilisation » : cette infantilisation de notre Collectivité n’a que trop duré, il faut impulser une nouvelle dynamique. J’ai la chance de pouvoir travailler de concert avec Madame la Préfète, qui a bien compris les enjeux de cette nouvelle dynamique et avec laquelle j’entretiens de très bonnes relations. L’Etat doit comprendre que Saint-Martin est dorénavant un partenaire, en aucun cas un vassal.
Les mots sont forts certes, mais ils seront suivis d’effets, j’en prends l’engagement. Car nous ne pouvons pas continuer à subir les désagréments d’un rattachement de fait avec la Guadeloupe, qui nuit à notre bon fonctionnement, creuse nos déficits et reste totalement contraire à l’esprit même du statut. Nous assumons les impératifs qui nous sont fixés, nous devons pouvoir bénéficier des garanties et des services prévus par ce statut.
Nous aurons aussi, pour parfaire notre statut – puisque, vous ne l’ignorez pas, certaines des compétences qui nous ont été attribuées ne le sont pas pleinement – nous aurons à toiletter et compléter la loi organique qui nous régit dans les mois à venir. Je souhaite la participation active de tous les élus et de tous les acteurs de notre Collectivité pour ce grand travail de réflexion qui engagera l’avenir institutionnel de notre Collectivité. Je sais pouvoir compter sur notre députée pour se faire le relai de toutes les demandes de notre Collectivité et je me réjouis par avance, de l’excellente collaboration qui nous lie, Madame Javois Guion-Firmin et moi-même.
Saint-Martin a besoin d’intelligence collective. Notre Collectivité a besoin de femmes et d’hommes qui regardent dans la même direction et qui sont animés de la même volonté de remettre l’île sur la voie du développement, de la réussite, du progrès. Je sais que beaucoup de ceux-là se trouvent devant moi aujourd’hui.
J’arrête là mon propos et je vous laisse découvrir le film réalisé par les équipes de la Collectivité pour cette célébration du dixième anniversaire de l’accession à notre statut. J’aimerais saluer le travail de grande qualité qu’a réalisé la cellule audiovisuelle du service « communication » de la Collectivité. Bravo à tous.
Une nouvelle fois, je vous souhaite, je nous souhaite, de très belles réjouissances en ce 14 juillet.
Je vous remercie.


Message Fête des mères
Message Fête des mères - 2017-05-28
« En ce dimanche 28 mai, je tiens à honorer au nom de notre collectivité toutes les mamans de Saint-Martin. Les membres du Conseil territorial se joignent à moi pour adresser à chacune d’entre elles une excellente fête, emplie de joie et de bonheur partagés. Ce jour spécial est l’occasion de saluer l’amour inconditionnel que les mamans portent à leurs enfants, leur courage et leur bienveillance. Nous avons tous une part de notre maman en nous, l’amour d’une mère rassure, protège,...
  Lire la suite
Félicitations de la présidente Aline Hanson à  Miss Saint-Martin-St Barth Anaëlle Hyppolite
Félicitations de la présidente Aline Hanson à Miss Saint-Martin-St Barth Anaëlle Hyppolite - 2017-01-04
« La collectivité de Saint-Martin salue le parcours de miss Saint-Martin - Saint-Barthélemy, Anaëlle Hyppolite, qui a participé avec brio au concours de beauté Miss France 2017. Notre jeune miss a reçu un accueil chaleureux bien mérité lors de son retour sur le territoire, mardi. Nous pouvons être fiers de la manière dont elle a dignement représenté nos deux collectivités d’outre-mer. Par sa pertinence et la qualité de sa prestation sur la scène de l’Aréna...
  Lire la suite
Hommage aux Harkis
Hommage aux Harkis - 2016-09-30
Dimanche 25 septembre 2016, un hommage solennel a été rendu devant le monument aux morts de la collectivité aux Harkis et autres membres des formations supplétives, en présence de la vice-présidente Ramona Connor, du sénateur Guillaume Arnell et du sous-préfet Thierry Malher, secrétaire général de la préfecture de Saint-Martin et Saint-Barthélemy.
  Lire la suite
Minute de silence
Minute de silence - 2016-07-19
Une minute de silence a été observée, lundi 18 juillet 2016, à midi, devant le monument aux Morts de Saint-Martin, en hommage aux victimes de l’attentat commis à Nice, au soir du 14 juillet. La Présidente Aline Hanson, la Préfète Anne Laubies, les élus territoriaux, le commandant Jean-Luc Deras, chef de la SPAF de Saint-Martin, des membres des forces de l’ordre et de la société civile ont pris part à cet hommage officiel observé sur tout le territoire...
  Lire la suite
Réaction Présidente Aline Hanson - actes violents
Réaction Présidente Aline Hanson - actes violents - 2016-07-13
J’ai appris avec tristesse qu’un nouvel homicide s’est produit à Saint-Martin, ce mercredi 13 juillet, dans le secteur de Mont Vernon. Une sexagénaire a fait l’objet d’une attaque par balle qui lui a été fatale. Je tiens à adresser mes sincères condoléances à la famille et aux proches de la victime. Le conseil territorial de Saint-Martin se joint à moi pour leur transmettre tout notre soutien et celui de notre population. Il est particulièrement difficile de constater que ce...
  Lire la suite