Community News
A mar
2016-05-19
A mar
Thanks to the support of the Interreg Caribbean IV European Cooperation Program (2007-2013), the Saint Martin Community has worked in partnership with the community of Saint-Barthélemy to equip the two northern islands with a tidal station. On Thursday 19 last May, President Aline Hanson and partners of the Interreg program inaugurated the tide gauge of Saint-Martin, on the port of Galisbay.

The strategy of the INTERREG IV Caribbean Program 2007-2013 aimed at sustainable development, based on environmentally sound economic growth and job creation. The deepening of regional cooperation and the strengthening of territorial cohesion by improving the competitiveness, attractiveness, integration and valorisation of the resources of the Caribbean area were also part of the prerogatives. The co-operation area is wide, it concerns the whole of the Greater Caribbean.

Aware of the lack of data in the northern islands, the community of Saint-Martin, leader of this project, chose to equip its territory with a tide gauge station. This ocean measurement tool is capable of providing real-time data for tsunami warning and forecasting and marine submersion. Tide gauges are used to measure the level of The sea continuously.

These measurements can be used for many applications:

- contribution to the tsunami warning
- determination of tidal cycles
- determination of the average sea level and its evolution
- response of ports to specific meteorological demands ...

In the presence of Marie-Luce Penchard, 2e Vice-President of the Guadeloupe Region, Managing Authority of the Interreg Caribbean Program, Guyana Territorial Counselor Jocelyn Ho-Tin-Noe, Member of Parliament for Saint Martin and Saint Barthelemy Daniel Gibbs , Of the 1er Minister of Sint Maarten William Marlin and of the prefect Anne Laubies, the President Aline Hanson raised the veil on the tide gauge. Charlotte Terrac, Head of the Major Risks Unit, informed the community of the technical feats of this extraordinary tool.

As part of this inter-island partnership, the community of Saint-Barthélemy will shortly set up its own tide gauge. The installation of tide gauging stations in the northern islands completes the network of monitoring stations of the Arc Antillais. It thus improves the tsunami warning system, but it is also a support to the National Climate Change Adaptation Plan (PNACC).

As a leader in the operation, the community of Saint-Martin received an ERDF grant from 75 000 €, under the Interreg Caribbean IV Program, representing 75% of the total estimated cost to 100 000 €.


Press Briefing
Press Briefing - 2015-10-10
The President by Interim Guillaume Arnell received the press on Friday 09 October 2015 during the Internal Security Days in Marigot to present to the population the Territorial Information Document on Major Hazards (DITRIM) carried out by the Community of Saint-Martin. This preventive document is accompanied by a small booklet covering the prevention and relief measures to be observed, which will be distributed to 40000 ...
Read more
The 2014 cyclone season
The 2014 cyclone season - 2014-07-14
Forecasts for the cyclone period Consult cyclonic forecasts for the upcoming season: CYCLONE INSTRUCTIONS (Fr-En) .pdf HOUSEHOLD USE INSTRUCTIONS.pdf LIST OF CYCLONIC SHELTERS 2014.pdf LIST OF ELECTORS RESPONSIBLE FOR SECTOR 2014.pdf ...
Read more
List of cyclonic shelters 2013
List of cyclonic shelters 2013 - 2013-08-06
For a list of 2013 cyclonic shelters. To see the list of cyclonic shelters 2013 click here: LIST OF CYCLONIC SHELTERS FOR COMMUNICATION ...
Read more
Cyclonic Season
Cyclonic Season - 2013-07-04
All the departments concerned took stock of the 22 last May during the working meeting organized by the ORSEC plan committee chaired by the territorial adviser Louis Fleming. What to remember: The safety commission has given the green light to the occupation of the 9 shelters, all considered as safe. The gullies are cleared or in the course of clearance. The trees along the roads are ...
Read more


5 - 4 - 3 - 2 - 1 - Previous article (s)

Actualités de la collectivité
Un marégraphe installé sur le port de Galisbay
2016-05-19
Un marégraphe installé sur le port de Galisbay
Grâce au soutien du programme européen de coopération Interreg Caraïbes IV (période 2007-2013), la Collectivité de Saint-Martin a œuvré en partenariat avec la collectivité de Saint-Barthélemy, à équiper les deux îles du Nord d’une station marégraphique. Jeudi 19 mai dernier, la Présidente Aline Hanson et les partenaires du programme Interreg ont inauguré le marégraphe de Saint-Martin, sur le port de Galisbay.

La stratégie du programme INTERREG IV Caraïbes 2007-2013 visait le développement durable, fondé sur la croissance économique respectueuse de l'environnement et créatrice d'emplois. L'approfondissement de la coopération régionale et le renforcement de la cohésion territoriale par l’amélioration de la compétitivité, l'attractivité, l'intégration et la valorisation des ressources de l'espace Caraïbes faisaient aussi partie des prérogatives. La zone de coopération est large, elle concerne toute la grande Caraïbe.

Consciente de l’absence de données dans les îles du Nord, la collectivité de Saint-Martin, chef de file de ce projet, a choisi d’équiper son territoire d’une station marégraphique. Cet outil de mesure de l’océan est capable de fournir des données en temps réel pour l’alerte et la prévision des tsunamis et des submersions marines. Les réseaux marégraphiques permettent de mesurer le niveau de la mer en continu.

Ces mesures pourront être utilisées pour de nombreuses applications :

- contribution à l'alerte aux tsunamis
- détermination des cycles de marées
- détermination du niveau moyen des mers et son évolution
- réponse des ports à des sollicitations météorologiques particulières…

En présence de Marie-Luce Penchard, 2e vice-présidente de la région Guadeloupe, autorité de gestion du programme Interreg Caraïbes, du conseiller territorial de la Guyane, Jocelyn Ho-Tin-Noe, du député de Saint-Martin et Saint Barthélemy Daniel Gibbs, du 1er ministre de Sint Maarten William Marlin et de la préfète Anne Laubies, la Présidente Aline Hanson a levé le voile sur le marégraphe. Charlotte Terrac, responsable de la cellule des risques majeurs, à la collectivité, a éclairé les élus sur les prouesses techniques de cet outil hors du commun.

Dans le cadre de ce partenariat inter-îles, la collectivité de Saint-Barthélemy installera prochainement son propre marégraphe. L’installation de stations marégraphiques dans les îles du Nord vient compléter le réseau de stations de surveillance de l’Arc Antillais. Il permet ainsi d’améliorer le dispositif d’alerte du risque tsunami, mais il est aussi un soutien au Plan National d’Adaptation au Changement Climatique (PNACC).

En tant que chef de file de l’opération, la collectivité de Saint-Martin a reçu une subvention FEDER de 75 000€, au titre du Programme Interreg Caraïbes IV, ce qui représente 75% du coût global estimé à 100 000€.


Point presse du président par Intérim Guillaume Arnell DITRIM
Point presse du président par Intérim Guillaume Arnell DITRIM - 2015-10-10
Le président par Intérim Guillaume Arnell a reçu la presse, vendredi 09 octobre 2015, lors des Journées de la sécurité Intérieure à Marigot, afin de présenter à la population le Document d’Information Territorial sur les Risque Majeurs (DITRIM) réalisé par la Collectivité de Saint-Martin. Ce document de prévention est accompagné d’un petit fascicule regroupant les mesures de prévention et de secours à observer, qui sera distribué à 40000...
  Lire la suite
La saison cyclonique 2014
La saison cyclonique 2014 - 2014-07-14
Des prévisions pour la période cyclonique Consultez les prévisions cycloniques pour la saison à venir: CONSIGNES EN CAS DE CYCLONE (Fr-En).pdf CONSIGNES D'UTILISATION D'UN ABRI.pdf LISTE DES ABRIS CYCLONIQUES 2014.pdf LISTE DES ELUS RESPONSABLES DE SECTEUR 2014.pdf ...
  Lire la suite
Liste des abris cycloniques 2013
Liste des abris cycloniques 2013 - 2013-08-06
Pour consulter la liste des abris cycloniques 2013. Pour consulter la liste des abris cycloniques 2013 cliquez ici:LISTE DES ABRIS CYCLONIQUES POUR COMMUNICATION...
  Lire la suite
Saison cyclonique
Saison cyclonique - 2013-07-04
Tous les services concernés ont fait le point le 22 mai dernier, au cours de la réunion de travail organisée par la commission du plan ORSEC, présidée par le conseiller territorial Louis Fleming. Ce qu’il faut retenir :La commission de sécurité a donné son feu vert à l’occupation des 9 abris, tous considérés comme sûrs.Les ravines sont dégagées ou en cours de dégagement.Les arbres le long des routes sont...
  Lire la suite


5 - 4 - 3 - 2 - 1 -    article(s) précédant(s)