Administrative procedures and services
Natural hazards
Natural hazards


It is in the West Indies that the seismic hazard is highest, being located at the subduction zone of the North American and South American plates under the Caribbean plate.
The magnitude measures the energy released by an earthquake and allows to evaluate its power. The power of an earthquake is also characterized by the length of the fault that comes into play. The more an earthquake releases energy and the more the fault yields over a long distance, the higher the magnitude.
The intensity measures the effects and damage of the earthquake in a given place: effects observed or felt by man.
An earthquake of very high magnitude can have a zero intensity when it takes place very far from any habitation.
The earthquake itself does not kill, it is the collapse of buildings, badly designed or poorly constructed, which can be accompanied by victims. The best prevention against this risk is therefore to build seismic.

Prevention and rescue booklet



Each year, prior to the start of the hurricane season, the Collectivité and the Prefecture organize preparatory meetings with all the services and actors concerned, in order to remind everyone of the different phases of the alert and to make an inventory of the means Implemented in the event of a major event.
Informed and sensitized by the media, the population applies the instructions of preparation and protection in case of threat or confirmation of threat (verification of material and alimentary reserves, preparation and protection of the home, withdrawal or stowage of any object that can transform into projectile).


INSTRUCTIONS IN CASE OF CYCLONE (Fr-En)
INSTRUCTIONS FOR YOUR STAY IN A SHELTER
Prevention and rescue booklet
INSTRUCTIONS FOR YOUR STAY IN A SHELTER
LIST OF CYCLONIC SHELTERS


A flood is a submersion, fast or slow, of an area usually out of water. Flooding is not unknown in some areas of Saint Martin.
The hydrographic network in our region is essentially composed of gullies that flow only during heavy rainfall, when the soils are saturated with water. Soil waterproofing (urban development) limits precipitation infiltration and increases runoff. In any urbanized area, the danger is to be carried away, isolated or drowned. Collective measures (maintenance and works) and individual measures (adaptation of constructions), taken and recommended, allow the considerable reduction of the damage caused by the floods.

Prevention and rescue booklet


Induced effects of earthquakes or high saturation of soils into water, land movements can be manifested by landslides, collapses or falls of rock blocks. The objective of reducing the hazard intensity (risk protection work) and therefore the vulnerability of the stakes (human and material), but in the In the case of large-scale movements, evacuation measures should be taken for your safety.

Prevention and rescue booklet


Tsunamis are a series of very long waves whose origin is most often the result of an earthquake, a volcanic eruption or a submarine landslide.
Our region can know 2 types of tsunamis: local, which can strike our coasts in a few minutes, and of distant or regional origin, which can touch us between a few tens of minutes and several hours, according to the remoteness of the source.
If the ground moves strongly and long under your feet, if you notice a sudden rise or fall of water or in case of alert by the authorities, a single slogan: go quickly to the heights!

Prevention and rescue booklet



GTranslate Your license is inactive or expired, please subscribe again!

Services, démarches, aides et infos pratiques
Les risques naturels
Les risques naturels


C'est aux Antilles que l’aléa sismique est le plus élevé, étant situées au niveau de la zone de subduction des plaques nord-américaine et sud-américaine sous la plaque caraïbe.
La magnitude mesure l’énergie libérée par un séisme et permet d'évaluer sa puissance. La puissance d'un séisme est aussi caractérisée par la longueur de la faille qui entre en jeu. Plus un séisme libère de l'énergie et plus la faille cède sur une longue distance, plus la magnitude sera élevée.
L’intensité mesure les effets et dommages du séisme en un lieu donné : effets observés ou ressentis par l'homme.
Un séisme de très forte magnitude peut avoir une intensité zéro lorsqu'il a lieu très loin de toute habitation.
Le séisme lui-même ne tue pas, c’est l’effondrement des bâtiments, mal conçus ou mal construits, qui peut s’accompagner de victimes. La meilleure prévention contre ce risque est donc de construire parasismique.



Chaque année, avant le début de la saison cyclonique, la Collectivité et la Préfecture organisent des réunions de préparation avec tous les services et acteurs concernés, afin de rappeler à chacun les différentes phases de l’alerte et permettre de faire l’inventaire des moyens mis en œuvre en cas d’évènement majeur.
Informée et sensibilisée par les médias, la population applique les consignes de préparation et de protection en cas de menace ou de confirmation de menace (vérification des réserves matérielles et alimentaires, préparation et protection du domicile, retrait ou arrimage de tout objet pouvant se transformer en projectile).


  CONSIGNES AUX ABRIS Fr
  CONSIGNES AUX ABRIS En
  CONSIGNES EN CAS DE CYCLONE Fr/En
  FLYER PREPARATION Fr
  FLYER PREPARATION En
  KIT URGENCE Fr
  KIT URGENCE En
  ARRETE INTERDICTION MOUILLAGE
  ARRETE SECURISATION CHANTIERS ET CONTAINERS
  FLYER PREVENTION HABITAT Fr
  PREVENTION HABITAT En
  Avis aux professionnels
  Message aux personnes âgées ou handicapées vivant seules
  LISTE DES ABRIS CYCLONIQUES ET LOCALISATION 2021
  L'alerte-SMS
  Noms des cyclones 2021


Une inondation est une submersion, rapide ou lente, d’une zone habituellement hors d’eau. Les inondations ne sont pas inconnues de certains quartiers à Saint-Martin.
Le réseau hydrographique de notre région est essentiellement composé de ravines qui ne coulent que lors de précipitations importantes, lorsque les sols sont saturés en eau. Aussi, l’imperméabilisation des sols (développement urbain) limite l’infiltration des précipitations et accentue le ruissellement. Dans toute zone urbanisée, le danger est d’être emporté, isolé voir noyé. Des mesures collectives (entretien et travaux) et individuelles (adaptation des constructions), prises et recommandées, permettent la réduction considérable des dommages causés par les inondations.


Effets induits des séismes ou de forte saturation des sols en eau, les mouvements de terrains peuvent se manifester par des glissements, des effondrements ou des chutes de blocs rocheux. La prise en compte de cet aléa dans l’aménagement a pour objectif l’atténuation des dommages en réduisant l’intensité de l’aléa (travaux de protection contre le risque) et ainsi la vulnérabilité des enjeux (humains et matériels) mais dans le cas de mouvement de grande ampleur, des mesures d’évacuation sont à opter pour votre sécurité.


Les tsunamis sont une série de vagues très longues dont l'origine est le plus souvent l'effet d'un séisme, d'une éruption volcanique ou encore d’un glissement de terrain, sous-marins. En fonction de la distance à laquelle les tsunamis sont capables de provoquer des dégâts, on distingue les tsunamis locaux, les tsunamis régionaux les tsunamis lointains ou télétsunamis.

Si le sol bouge fortement et longtemps sous vos pieds, si vous constatez une montée ou un retrait subit des eaux ou en cas d’alerte des autorités, un seul mot d’ordre : dirigez- vous rapidement vers les hauteurs !

  CONSIGNES EVACUATION TSUNAMI
  ALERTE SMS