Community News
The Community
2018-08-28
The Community
The Community gives an update on the work in secondary schools
The President Daniel Gibbs and the vice-president in charge of School Affairs Mrs Annick Pétrus, received the Heads of Establishment of the second degree, this Monday 27 August, to take stock of the reconstruction work undertaken during the summer holidays. A similar meeting will take place in the middle of the week with school principals.

The Community mobilized for the holidays period to be used for the reconstruction of the damaged institutions by Irma. The goal of the territorial executive was to make every effort to ensure that each student calmly returned to school. President Gibbs has always mentioned the implementation of all possible actions to "optimize" the September 2018 back to school in this unprecedented context, recalling that an optimization is to find the best possible situation in a given context.

Delays are indeed to be deplored in the work that is still going on in the four secondary schools. However, the Collectivité makes every effort to ensure that each student is welcomed in the best possible conditions at the beginning of September. Without forsaking its share of responsibility in this situation, the Collectivité regrets that some mandated companies have not taken the measure of the issue of the mission that was entrusted to them by contract. Back to school under optimized conditions was a matter for everyone:


    The Public Procurement Authority, after assessing the needs, awarded the lots and signed the purchase orders;
    The architects and / or architects who have made the diagnoses and commissioned the companies;
    The companies mandated to carry out the work.


The "summer vacations" factor played against worksites undertaken

This period of July and August, in fact the most conducive to carrying out major work in schools, also corresponds to the period when everyone takes their annual leave.

"This is the only time for the community to safely intervene without the presence of students. Once the contracts are over, we are linked with the companies that won them. Certainly, there are penalties of delay which are planned and applied when the building sites do not begin as planned, but in front of the very strong demand for works in this period of reconstruction, as much on the part of the individuals as that of the public organisms , construction companies respond to many requests and sometimes get in trouble to be able to carry out this work in time. We have certainly considered breaking some contracts with companies that were accumulating too late where they were not present at the site meetings, but in this case, the work would have been delayed by 3 minimum additional months, the deadline to pass a new market, "explains Vice President Annick Petrus, who also wishes to highlight the very good work done by the majority of companies that have managed to meet their deadlines.

In fact, some works that should have started in July, started in August, which led to a delay in implementation and pushes some sites to September.

The Community is reassuring towards the entire educational community, while calling for a certain indulgence in the face of this situation caused by the Irma disaster that devastated public buildings at 95%. She recalls also that it works in full consultation with all the services concerned including those of the State, heads of schools and educational teams, parents of students, and companies mandated for the work.

However, including the impatience of teachers and parents, Vice President Annick Pétrus stresses that a protest movement at the start of the school year would only delay the care of students.

State of play of colleges and high schools

The Collectivité has little concern for Orleans District College, where the planned work the summer months are nearing completion. Only two classrooms will be missing for September.

The strongest concerns are the other three high schools. The Algecos provided for Robert Weinum School Complex in Savannah are not installed. Four of them funded by the Collective have been delivered, but considering safety standards it is necessary to strengthen the ground fixings with heavy steel. The company in charge of this mission encountered difficulties in the shipping of this heavy steel. She assured the Community that 2 prefabricated classes will be installed for the start of the school year, and two more in the process. The Fondation de France is funding the installation of six other Algecos that will be delivered within a few weeks and will complete the temporary classrooms. For the vice-president, pending the arrival of these six Algecos additional, the four funded by the Community (60m2) are sufficient to accommodate all students of the Cité Scolaire which hosts two colleges and a high school.

With regard to the Polyvalent High School of the North Islandsat Concordia, he should have recovered 65% of his classrooms (against 50% of the classrooms that were operational last June). At the beginning of September, the technical workshops and their classrooms will be rehabilitated for the new school year. Problems remain for the rest of the establishment where delays have been made in the repair of electrical circuits; other trades, especially for false ceilings and plasterboard walls could not work. The repairs on the roof will begin next week and the company in charge of the installation of aluminum joinery is at work. Concerning the rooms dedicated to the catering-hotel, as well as the CDI and the multipurpose room, as scheduled, the work will be undertaken after the start of the school year and should be completed during the 2018 / 2019 school year. A work schedule will soon be elaborated by the mandated design office. As long as the work is not completed in the restaurant and the kitchen, the students enrolled in the restoration courses will continue to practice their practical classes at the Central Kitchen.

For the College of Mont des Accordsat Concordia, the work done will enable us to recover about 10% of additional classes, thus moving to about 50% of the operating rooms in this establishment. A very tight occupation plan for these classes, optimizing timetables, has been put in place so that the situation does not penalize students or teaching teams.



Photo caption 1: The president and the vice-president meet the head teachers of the 2nd degree, the representative of the rector Michel Sanz and Christian Climent Pons, in charge of the State of the follow-up of the reconstruction of the school buildings.

Photo caption 2: At the Concordia Professional High School, the technical workshops and their classrooms are rehabilitated and will be ready to welcome students back to school


The Ao Pen
The Ao Pen - 2018-08-06
During the holidays, the community of Saint-Martin acts for the youth of the territory. During the month of August, free tutoring classes are set up for the benefit of children. Sessions are held at Quartier d'Orléans and Marigot, from August 06 to 24 August 2017. Register your children, we are waiting for you! Registration to the Youth and Sports Department of the Community of Saint-Martin. For more information: 0590 522730 or via our ...
Read more
Evening
Evening - 2018-07-23
SPEECH BY THE PRESIDENT:EVENING OF THE 2018 WINNERS ******************************************************************* Madame la Préfète, the deputy of Saint-Barthélemy and Saint-Martin, the senator of Saint-Martin, the 1ère vice-president in charge of the human development pole, the 3e vice-president, in charge of the Education, ladies and gentlemen ...
Read more
R
R - 2018-07-16
The vice-president Annick Pétrus, in charge of Education, wishes to underline the good results in the Baccalaureate Polynesian high school of the islands of the North (LPO), which with a success rate of 83% in the technological and professional sectors records 11 points better than 2017. The Vice-President would like to congratulate the LPO students who stayed in Saint-Martin despite the difficult situation of the school after Irma. The...
Read more
Works in the
Works in the - 2018-01-30
Upgrading of electrical installations and works in schools The technical services of the Community of St. Martin intervene in schools. This is for the teams to upgrade electrical systems before the overall renovation of schools will start within the procurement by the community. So for several weeks, several ...
Read more
2017 Laureat Philippe Philidor Young Talent Overseas Saint-Martinois
2017 Laureat Philippe Philidor Young Talent Overseas Saint-Martinois - 2018-01-22
2017 Edition of the Overseas Talent Awards: Saint-Martin has its winner! This year again, the community of Saint-Martin has distinguished itself during the 2017 edition of the Talents of Overseas thanks to Philippe PHILIDOR, 26 years, young lawyer of Business and Taxation, which was elected laureate in the section Young Talent Overseas. Young Talent saint-martinois, Philippe PHILIDOR began his studies in section "Sports Studies ...
Read more
The
The - 2017-10-03
First school attendance: The students have returned to school under the authority of President Daniel Gibbs and the 3 Vice President for Education, Ms. Annick Pétrus, the Community of Saint-Martin has made every effort to respond to the expectations of St. Martin's students. In agreement with the Rector of Academy Camille Galap and his services, the return of the classes took place this Monday 02 October 2017. Four...
Read more
Postponement of the date of return
Postponement of the date of return - 2017-09-03
Due to the major cyclonic phenomenon IRMA, which is expected to impact the northern islands on 5 in September, it was decided, in conjunction with the prefect of the Guadeloupe region, the rector of the academy, and the presidents of the communities, to shift the date from the start of the school year to Saint-Barthélémy and Saint-Martin. This decision, taken in anticipation, aims to allow the population to prepare as best as possible for the arrival of ...
Read more
The COM honors the Laur
The COM honors the Laur - 2017-07-28
On Friday 28 July, President Daniel Gibbs honored the 2016-2017 school year exams. He was surrounded by his vice-president Annick Pétrus, in charge of education, the prefect Anne Laubies, and elected representatives of the territorial council. The atmosphere in the MJC's Sandy Ground theater was particularly festive this Friday night, with more than 200 young people present surrounded by their families who came to support them. So...
Read more

Actualités de la collectivité
La Collectivité fait le point sur les travaux dans les établissements du second degré
2018-08-28
La Collectivité fait le point sur les travaux dans les établissements du second degré
La Collectivité fait le point sur les travaux dans les établissements du second degré
Le Président Daniel Gibbs et la vice-présidente en charge des Affaires scolaires madame Annick Pétrus, ont reçu les chefs d’Etablissement du second degré, ce lundi 27 août, afin de faire un point sur les travaux de reconstruction engagés pendant les grandes vacances. Une réunion similaire aura lieu en milieu de semaine avec les chefs d’établissement du premier degré.

La Collectivité s’est mobilisée pour que la période des grandes vacances soit mise à profit pour la reconstruction des établissements endommagés par Irma. L’objectif de l’exécutif territorial était de tout mettre en œuvre pour que chaque élève retrouve sereinement le chemin de l’école. Le Président Gibbs a toujours évoqué la mise en œuvre de toutes les actions possibles pour«optimiser» la rentrée scolaire de septembre 2018 dans ce contexte inédit, rappelant qu’une optimisation consiste à trouver la meilleure situation possible dans un contexte donné.

Des retards sont en effet à déplorer dans les travaux qui ont toujours cours dans les quatre établissements scolaires du second degré. Toutefois, la Collectivité met tout en œuvre pour que chaque élève soit accueilli dans les meilleures conditions possibles à la rentrée de septembre. Sans pour autant évincer sa part de responsabilité dans cette situation, la Collectivité déplore que certaines entreprises mandatées n’aient pas pris la mesure de l’enjeu de la mission qui leur était confiée par contrat. Une rentrée scolaire dans des conditions optimisées relevait bien de l’affaire de tous:


    La Collectivité qui a passé les marchés publics après avoir évalué les besoins, a attribué les lots et a signé les bons de commandes;
    Les maîtres d’œuvre et/ou les architectes qui ont fait les diagnostics et mandaté les entreprises;
    Les entreprises mandatées pour réaliser les travaux.


Le facteur «vacances d’été» a joué en la défaveur des chantiers entrepris

Cette période des mois de juillet et d’août, en effet la plus propice à la réalisation des gros travaux dans les établissements scolaires, correspond aussi à la période où chacun prend ses congés annuels.

«C’est la seule période permettant à la collectivité d’intervenir en toute sécurité, sans la présence des élèves. Une fois les marchés passés, nous sommes liés avec les entreprises qui les ont remportés. Certes, il y a des pénalités de retard qui sont prévues et appliquées lorsque les chantiers ne débutent pas comme prévu, mais face à la très forte demande de travaux dans cette période de reconstruction, tant de la part des particuliers que de celle des organismes publics, les entreprises du BTP répondent à de nombreuses sollicitations et se mettent parfois en difficulté de pouvoir réaliser ces travaux en temps et en heure. Nous avons bien envisagé de casser certains marchés avec des entreprises qui accumulaient trop de retard où n’étaient pas présentes aux réunions de chantier, mais dans ce cas-là, les travaux auraient encore été retardés de 3 mois supplémentaires minimum, le délai pour passer un nouveau marché», explique la vice-présidente Annick Petrus, qui tient aussi à souligner le très bon travail réalisé par la majorité des entreprises qui ont su tenir leurs délais.

De fait, certains travaux qui auraient dû démarrer au mois de juillet, ont démarré en août, ce qui a entraîné du retard dans la réalisation et repousse certains chantiers à septembre.

La Collectivité se veut rassurante à l’endroit de l’ensemble de la communauté éducative, tout en appelant à une certaine indulgence face à cette situation engendrée par la catastrophe Irma qui a dévasté à 95% les bâtiments publics. Elle rappelle par ailleurs qu’elle travaille en totale concertation avec tous les services concernés y compris ceux de l’Etat, les chefs d’établissements et les équipes pédagogiques, les parents d’élèves, et les entreprises mandatées pour les travaux.

Comprenant toutefois l’impatience des enseignants et des parents d’élèves, la vice-présidente Annick Pétrus souligne toutefois qu’un mouvement de protestation à la rentrée scolaire ne ferait que retarder la prise en charge des élèves.

Etat des lieux des collèges et lycées

La Collectivité formule peu d’inquiétudes pour le Collège de Quartier d’Orléans, où les travaux prévus les mois d’été sont en voie d’achèvement. Seules deux salles de classes seront manquantes pour la rentrée de septembre.

Les plus fortes inquiétudes se portent sur les trois autres établissements du secondaire. Les algéco prévus à la cité scolaire Robert Weinum à la Savane ne sont pas installés. Quatre d’entre eux financés par la Collectivité ont été livrés, mais compte-tenu des normes de sécurité il est nécessaire de renforcer les fixations au sol avec de l’acier lourd. L’entreprise en charge de cette mission a rencontré des difficultés dans l’acheminement maritime de cet acier lourd. Elle a assuré la Collectivité que 2 classes préfabriquées seront bien installées pour la rentrée, et deux autres dans la foulée. La Fondation de France finance l’installation de six autres algéco qui seront livrés d’ici quelques semaines et viendront compléter les salles de classe temporaires. Pour la vice-présidente, en attendant l’arrivée de ces six algéco supplémentaires, les quatre financés par la Collectivité (de 60m2) sont suffisants pour accueillir tous les élèves de la Cité Scolaire qui accueille deux collèges et un lycée.

S’agissant du Lycée Polyvalent des Iles du Nord, à Concordia, celui-ci devrait avoir recouvré 65% de ses salles de classes (contre 50% des salles de classes opérationnelles en juin dernier). A la rentrée de septembre, les ateliers techniques et leurs salles de cours seront réhabilités pour la rentrée. Des problèmes subsistent pour le reste de l’établissement où des retards ont été pris quant à la réparation des circuits électriques; les autres corps de métiers, notamment pour les faux plafonds et les parois en Placoplatre n’ont pas pu travailler. Les réparations sur la toiture débuteront la semaine prochaine et l’entreprise en charge de la pose des menuiseries aluminium est au travail. Concernant les salles dédiées à la restauration –hôtellerie, ainsi que le CDI et la salle polyvalente, comme programmé, les travaux seront entrepris après la rentrée et devraient être achevés courant de l’année scolaire 2018/2019. Un planning de travail sera prochainement élaboré par le bureau d’études mandaté. Tant que les travaux ne sont pas terminés dans le restaurant et la cuisine, les élèves inscrits dans les filières de restauration continueront à exercer leurs cours pratiques à la Cuisine Centrale.

Pour le Collège du Mont des Accords, à Concordia, les travaux réalisés vont permettre de récupérer environ 10% de classes supplémentaires, passant alors à environ 50% de salles opérationnelles dans cet établissement. Un plan d’occupation très serré de ces classes, optimisant les emplois du temps, a été mis en place afin que la situation ne pénalise pas les élèves, ni les équipes pédagogiques.



Légende photo 1: Le président et la vice-présidente rencontrent les chefs d’établissement du 2nd degré, le représentant du recteur Michel Sanz et monsieur Christian Climent Pons, en charge pour l’Etat du suivi de la reconstruction des bâtiments scolaires.

Légende photo 2: Au lycée Professionnel de Concordia, les ateliers techniques et leurs salles de cours sont réhabilités et seront prêts à accueillir les élèves à la rentrée scolaire


Le Stylo d'août: Cours de soutien gratuits pour les enfants !
Le Stylo d'août: Cours de soutien gratuits pour les enfants ! - 2018-08-06
Pendant les grandes vacances, la collectivité de Saint-Martin agit pour la jeunesse du territoire. Durant le mois d’août, des cours de soutien scolaire sont gratuitement mis en place au profit des enfants. Les sessions sont dispensées à Quartier d’Orléans et à Marigot, du 06 août au 24 août 2017. Inscrivez vos enfants, on vous attend nombreux ! Inscriptions au service Jeunesse et Sports de la Collectivité de Saint-Martin. Pour plus d'informations: 0590 522730 ou via notre...
  Lire la suite
Soirée des lauréats 2018
Soirée des lauréats 2018 - 2018-07-23
DISCOURS DU PRESIDENT :SOIREE DES LAUREATS 2018 ******************************************************************* Madame la Préfète, Madame la Députée de Saint-Barthélemy et Saint-Martin, Monsieur le Sénateur de Saint-Martin, Madame la 1ère vice-présidente en charge du Pôle de développement Humain, Madame la 3e vice-présidente, en charge de l’Education, Mesdames et messieurs...
  Lire la suite
Résultats du Bac: Les félicitations de la VP Annick Pétrus
Résultats du Bac: Les félicitations de la VP Annick Pétrus - 2018-07-16
La vice-présidente Annick Pétrus, en charge de l’Education, tient à souligner les bons résultats au Baccalauréat du Lycée Polyvalent des îles du Nord (LPO), qui avec un taux de réussite de 83% dans les filières technologique et professionnelle enregistre 11 points de mieux qu’en 2017. La vice-présidente tient à féliciter les élèves du LPO qui sont restés à Saint-Martin malgré la situation difficile de l’établissement après Irma. Le...
  Lire la suite
Travaux dans les établissements scolaires
Travaux dans les établissements scolaires - 2018-01-30
Remise à niveau des installations électriques et travaux dans les établissements scolaires Les services techniques de la Collectivité de Saint-Martin interviennent dans les écoles. Il s’agit pour les équipes de remettre à niveau les installations électriques avant que les travaux de rénovation globale des établissements scolaires ne démarrent dans le cadre des marchés publics passés par la collectivité. Ainsi depuis plusieurs semaines, plusieurs...
  Lire la suite
Laureat 2017 Philippe Philidor Jeune Talent Outre Mer Saint-Martinois
Laureat 2017 Philippe Philidor Jeune Talent Outre Mer Saint-Martinois - 2018-01-22
Edition 2017 des Prix des Talents des Outre-Mer: Saint-Martin a son Lauréat! Cette année encore, la collectivité de Saint-Martin s’est distinguée lors de l’édition 2017 des Talents des Outre-mer grâce à Philippe PHILIDOR, 26 ans, jeune avocat d’Affaires et Fiscalité, qui a été élu lauréat dans la section Jeune Talent Outre-Mer. Jeune Talent saint-martinois, Philippe PHILIDOR a commencé ses études en section « Sports Etudes...
  Lire la suite
La rentrée des classes
La rentrée des classes - 2017-10-03
Premier accueil scolaire : Les élèves ont regagné les bancs de l’école Sous l’autorité du Président Daniel Gibbs et de la 3e vice-présidente en charge de l’Education, madame Annick Pétrus, la Collectivité de Saint-Martin a mis tout en œuvre, pour répondre aux attentes des élèves de Saint-Martin. En accord avec le Recteur d’Académie Camille Galap et ses services, la rentrée des classes a eu lieu ce lundi 02 octobre 2017. Quatre...
  Lire la suite
Report de la date de la rentrée scolaire
Report de la date de la rentrée scolaire - 2017-09-03
En raison du phénomène cyclonique majeur IRMA, qui devrait impacter les îles du nord le 5 septembre, il a été décidé, en lien avec le préfet de la région Guadeloupe, le recteur d’académie, et les présidents des collectivités, de décaler la date de la rentrée scolaire à Saint-Barthélémy et Saint- Martin. Cette décision, prise par anticipation, vise à permettre à la population de se préparer au mieux à l’arrivée du...
  Lire la suite
La COM honore les Lauréats 2017 !
La COM honore les Lauréats 2017 ! - 2017-07-28
Vendredi 28 juillet, le Président Daniel Gibbs a honoré les lauréats aux examens de l'année scolaire 2016-2017. Il était entouré de sa vice-présidente Annick Pétrus, en charge de l'éducation, de la préfète Anne Laubies, et des élus du conseil territorial. L'Ambiance dans la salle de spectacle de la MJC de Sandy Ground était particulièrement festive, ce vendredi soir, avec plus de 200 jeunes présents entourés de leurs familles venues les soutenir. Alors...
  Lire la suite