Administrative procedures and services
Major hazards
Major Risk Management Unit





Experience has shown that our region is exposed to major risks. In anticipation of these natural and technological risks, it is essential to organize if one had to limit the damage and facilitate the return to normal.

The 13 / 08 / 2004 Modernization of Civil Security Act states in its article 1 that "The aim of civil security is to prevent risks of all kinds, to inform and alert The protection of persons, property and the environment through the preparation and implementation of appropriate measures and means "

Very conscious of this need, the Collectivité has set up a risk management unit, represented today by Mrs PETRUS-FERGA Annick, Elected Officer and Mrs Charlotte TERRAC, Project Officer, in order to evolve the Territorial Plan of (PTS) and to formalize a suitable crisis organization. The purpose of this service is to consolidate, plan and harmonize all the documents of competence of the Collectivity and all the human and material resources contributing to the preventive information, the alert, the safeguarding, the protection and the Support of the population.


Risk Management Unit
Community Annex (former hospital)
N ° 6 rue du Fort Louis - 97 150 Saint-Martin
05 90 52 27 30
charlotte.terrac@com-saint-martin.fr

Territorial information on major risks


The management of a crisis situation depends as much on the preparation of the community as on the reaction of the inhabitants.

The DITRIM presents:
- the characteristics of known natural and technological hazards in the territory as well as information on the memory of past events;
- a list of the ordinances establishing the state of natural disaster;
- the informative maps of the Plan for the Prevention of Natural Hazards approved by Prefectoral Order No. 2011 / 009 on 10 February 2011;
- the arrangements for alerting and organizing safeguards and relief.

The booklet shows, for each risk, the preventive measures to take to reduce its vulnerability and the good behaviors or reactions to have in case of danger or alert.


Responsibility for the development of the PPRN rests with the Prefect.
The PPRN of the Community of Saint Martin was approved by prefectoral decree n ° 2011 / 009 the 10 February 2011.
The PPRN is a servitude of public utility.
The existence of natural hazards may justify prohibiting or imposing conditions on buildings.

The PPRN of Saint-Martin can be consulted on the site of the Prefecture or via the following link:
http://www.saint-barth-saint-martin.pref.gouv.fr/


At the end of the articles L. 125-5 and R 125-23 to 27 of the Environmental Code, purchasers or tenants of real estate of any kind must be informed by the seller or the lessor, Whether or not it is a real estate professional, of the existence of the risks to which the property is exposed.
The state of the risks is compulsory in any real estate transaction appended to any type of written lease, reservation of a property in the future state of completion, promise of sale or act realizing or Noting the sale of real estate, whether built or not.

Natural hazards


It is in the West Indies that the seismic hazard is highest, being located at the subduction zone of the North American and South American plates under the Caribbean plate.
The magnitude measures the energy released by an earthquake and allows to evaluate its power. The power of an earthquake is also characterized by the length of the fault that comes into play. The more an earthquake releases energy and the more the fault yields over a long distance, the higher the magnitude.
The intensity measures the effects and damage of the earthquake in a given place: effects observed or felt by man.
An earthquake of very high magnitude can have a zero intensity when it takes place very far from any habitation.
The earthquake itself does not kill, it is the collapse of buildings, badly designed or poorly constructed, which can be accompanied by victims. The best prevention against this risk is therefore to build seismic.

Prevention and rescue booklet



Each year, prior to the start of the hurricane season, the Collectivité and the Prefecture organize preparatory meetings with all the services and actors concerned, in order to remind everyone of the different phases of the alert and to make an inventory of the means Implemented in the event of a major event.
Informed and sensitized by the media, the population applies the instructions of preparation and protection in case of threat or confirmation of threat (verification of material and alimentary reserves, preparation and protection of the home, withdrawal or stowage of any object that can transform into projectile).


INSTRUCTIONS IN CASE OF CYCLONE (Fr-En)
INSTRUCTIONS FOR YOUR STAY IN A SHELTER
Prevention and rescue booklet
INSTRUCTIONS FOR YOUR STAY IN A SHELTER
LIST OF CYCLONIC SHELTERS


A flood is a submersion, fast or slow, of an area usually out of water. Flooding is not unknown in some areas of Saint Martin.
The hydrographic network in our region is essentially composed of gullies that flow only during heavy rainfall, when the soils are saturated with water. Soil waterproofing (urban development) limits precipitation infiltration and increases runoff. In any urbanized area, the danger is to be carried away, isolated or drowned. Collective measures (maintenance and works) and individual measures (adaptation of constructions), taken and recommended, allow the considerable reduction of the damage caused by the floods.

Prevention and rescue booklet


Induced effects of earthquakes or high saturation of soils into water, land movements can be manifested by landslides, collapses or falls of rock blocks. The objective of reducing the hazard intensity (risk protection work) and therefore the vulnerability of the stakes (human and material), but in the In the case of large-scale movements, evacuation measures should be taken for your safety.

Prevention and rescue booklet


Tsunamis are a series of very long waves whose origin is most often the result of an earthquake, a volcanic eruption or a submarine landslide.
Our region can know 2 types of tsunamis: local, which can strike our coasts in a few minutes, and of distant or regional origin, which can touch us between a few tens of minutes and several hours, according to the remoteness of the source.
If the ground moves strongly and long under your feet, if you notice a sudden rise or fall of water or in case of alert by the authorities, a single slogan: go quickly to the heights!

Prevention and rescue booklet


Technological risks


The major industrial risk is the accidental hazard that can occur on industrial sites and can have serious consequences for people, property and the environment.

There are several types of effects, immediate or delayed, resulting from a possible industrial accident:
Thermal effects, As a result of a fire or explosion,
The effects of overpressure, Consecutive to an explosion or a burst,
Toxic effects Consequential to a dispersion in air of volatile toxic product or to a fire emitting toxic fumes,
Pollution effects, Generally resulting from the application or leakage of an environmentally toxic product to soil or water.

Prevention and rescue booklet


A hazardous good is a substance or object which by its physico-chemical (toxicity, reactivity ...) and physiological characteristics may present risks to man, property and / or the environment.
These goods may be transported in liquid (eg hydrocarbon) or solid (eg explosives) form. These substances often have higher concentration and aggressiveness than domestic ones.

The main consequences of the occurrence of an accident when transporting dangerous goods are:
- a fire
- a release of toxic cloud
- an explosion
- corrosion
- soil and / or water pollution


The risks generated by the transport of hazardous materials are difficult to understand precisely because, by definition, it is a circulating activity that is difficult to identify, locate and quantify. This risk is considered to be diffuse because it is scattered throughout the country.
The transport of dangerous goods by road is the mode of transport most exposed to accidents. The causes are various: lack of driving of the driver or a third party, poor condition of the vehicle, bad road conditions, unfavorable weather ...

Prevention and rescue booklet



GTranslate Your license is inactive or expired, please subscribe again!

Services, démarches, aides et infos pratiques
Risques majeurs
Cellule de Gestion des risques majeurs





L’expérience l’a montré, notre région est exposée aux risques majeurs. En prévision de ces risques naturels et technologiques, il est indispensable de s’organiser si l'on eut limiter les dégâts et faciliter le retour à la normal.

La loi du 13/08/2004 de modernisation de la sécurité civile pose comme principe, dans son article 1, que « La sécurité civile a pour objet la prévention des risques de toute nature, l'information et l'alerte des populations ainsi que la protection des personnes, des biens et de l'environnement par la préparation et la mise en œuvre de mesures et de moyens appropriés »

Très consciente de cette nécessité, la Collectivité a mis en place une cellule de gestion des risques, représentée aujourd'hui par Mme PETRUS-FERGA Annick, Elue en charge et Mme Charlotte TERRAC, Chargée de mission, afin de faire évoluer le Plan Territorial de Sauvegarde (PTS) et permettre de formaliser une organisation de crise adaptée. Pour cette tâche, ce service a pour objectif de regrouper, prévoir et harmoniser l’ensemble des documents de compétence de la Collectivité et tous les moyens humains et matériels contribuant à l’information préventive, l’alerte, la sauvegarde, la protection et le soutien de la population.


Cellule de Gestion des risques
Annexe de la Collectivité (ancien hôpital)
N°6 rue du Fort Louis - 97 150 Saint-Martin
05 90 52 27 30
charlotte.terrac@com-saint-martin.fr

L'information territoriale sur les risques majeurs


La gestion d’une situation de crise dépend autant de la préparation de la collectivité que de la réaction des habitants.

Le DITRIM présente :
- les caractéristiques des risques naturels et technologiques connus sur le territoire ainsi que les éléments d’informations concernant la mémoire des évènements passés ;
- la liste des arrêtés portant constatation de l’état de catastrophe naturelle ;
- les cartes informatives du Plan de Prévention des Risques Naturels approuvé par arrêté préfectoral n°2011/009 le 10 février 2011 ;
- les modalités d’alerte et d’organisation de la sauvegarde et des secours.

Le fascicule reprend, pour chaque risque, les mesures préventives à prendre pour réduire sa vulnérabilité et les bons comportements ou réactions à avoir en cas de danger ou d'alerte.


La responsabilité de l’élaboration du PPRN incombe au préfet.
Le PPRN de la Collectivité de Saint Martin a été approuvé par arrêté préfectoral n°2011/009 le 10 février 2011.
Le PPRN vaut servitude d'utilité publique.
L’existence de risques naturels peut justifier d’interdire ou de soumettre à conditions les constructions.

Le PPRN de Saint-Martin consultable sur le site de la Préfecture ou via le lien suivant :
http://www.saint-barth-saint-martin.pref.gouv.fr/


Au terme des articles L. 125-5 et R 125-23 à 27 du Code de l’environnement, les acquéreurs ou locataires de bien immobilier, de toute nature, doivent être informés par le vendeur ou le bailleur, qu’il s’agisse ou non d’un professionnel de l’immobilier, de l’existence des risques auxquels ce bien est exposé.
L’état des risques est obligatoire lors de toute transaction immobilière en annexe de tout type de contrat de location écrit, de réservation d’un bien en l’état futur d’achèvement, de la promesse de vente ou de l'acte réalisant ou constatant la vente d'un bien immobilier bâti ou non bâti.

Les risques naturels


C'est aux Antilles que l’aléa sismique est le plus élevé, étant situées au niveau de la zone de subduction des plaques nord-américaine et sud-américaine sous la plaque caraïbe.
La magnitude mesure l’énergie libérée par un séisme et permet d'évaluer sa puissance. La puissance d'un séisme est aussi caractérisée par la longueur de la faille qui entre en jeu. Plus un séisme libère de l'énergie et plus la faille cède sur une longue distance, plus la magnitude sera élevée.
L’intensité mesure les effets et dommages du séisme en un lieu donné : effets observés ou ressentis par l'homme.
Un séisme de très forte magnitude peut avoir une intensité zéro lorsqu'il a lieu très loin de toute habitation.
Le séisme lui-même ne tue pas, c’est l’effondrement des bâtiments, mal conçus ou mal construits, qui peut s’accompagner de victimes. La meilleure prévention contre ce risque est donc de construire parasismique.

  Fascicule des mesures de prévention et de secours



Chaque année, avant le début de la saison cyclonique, la Collectivité et la Préfecture organisent des réunions de préparation avec tous les services et acteurs concernés, afin de rappeler à chacun les différentes phases de l’alerte et permettre de faire l’inventaire des moyens mis en œuvre en cas d’évènement majeur.
Informée et sensibilisée par les médias, la population applique les consignes de préparation et de protection en cas de menace ou de confirmation de menace (vérification des réserves matérielles et alimentaires, préparation et protection du domicile, retrait ou arrimage de tout objet pouvant se transformer en projectile).


  CONSIGNES EN CAS DE CYCLONE (Fr-En)
  CONSIGNES POUR VOTRE SEJOUR DANS UN ABRI
  Fascicule des mesures de prévention et de secours
  INSTRUCTIONS FOR YOUR STAY IN A SHELTER
  LISTE DES ABRIS CYCLONIQUES


Une inondation est une submersion, rapide ou lente, d’une zone habituellement hors d’eau. Les inondations ne sont pas inconnues de certains quartiers à Saint-Martin.
Le réseau hydrographique de notre région est essentiellement composé de ravines qui ne coulent que lors de précipitations importantes, lorsque les sols sont saturés en eau. Aussi, l’imperméabilisation des sols (développement urbain) limite l’infiltration des précipitations et accentue le ruissellement. Dans toute zone urbanisée, le danger est d’être emporté, isolé voir noyé. Des mesures collectives (entretien et travaux) et individuelles (adaptation des constructions), prises et recommandées, permettent la réduction considérable des dommages causés par les inondations.

  Fascicule des mesures de prévention et de secours


Effets induits des séismes ou de forte saturation des sols en eau, les mouvements de terrains peuvent se manifester par des glissements, des effondrements ou des chutes de blocs rocheux. La prise en compte de cet aléa dans l’aménagement a pour objectif l’atténuation des dommages en réduisant l’intensité de l’aléa (travaux de protection contre le risque) et ainsi la vulnérabilité des enjeux (humains et matériels) mais dans le cas de mouvement de grande ampleur, des mesures d’évacuation sont à opter pour votre sécurité.

  Fascicule des mesures de prévention et de secours


Les tsunamis sont une série de vagues très longues dont l'origine est le plus souvent l'effet d'un séisme, d'une éruption volcanique ou encore d’un glissement de terrain sous-marins.
Notre région peut connaître 2 types de tsunamis : local, qui peut frapper nos côtes en quelques minutes, et d’origine lointaine ou régionale, qui peut nous toucher entre quelques dizaines de minutes et plusieurs heures, suivant l’éloignement de la source.
Si le sol bouge fortement et longtemps sous vos pieds, si vous constatez une montée ou un retrait subit des eaux ou en cas d’alerte des autorités, un seul mot d’ordre : dirigez- vous rapidement vers les hauteurs !

  Fascicule des mesures de prévention et de secours


Les risques technologiques


Le risque industriel majeur correspond au risque accidentel pouvant survenir sur les sites industriels et pouvant entraîner des conséquences graves pour les personnes, les biens et l’environnement.

On distingue plusieurs types d’effets, immédiats ou différés, consécutifs à un éventuel accident industriel :
les effets thermiques, consécutifs à un incendie ou une explosion,
les effets de surpression, consécutifs à une explosion ou un éclatement,
les effets toxiques consécutifs à une dispersion dans l’air de produit toxique volatil ou à un incendie dégageant des fumées toxiques,
les effets de pollution, généralement consécutifs à l’épandage ou la fuite d’un produit toxique pour l’environnement sur le sol ou dans l’eau.

  Fascicule des mesures de prévention et de secours


Une marchandise dangereuse est une matière ou un objet qui, par ses caractéristiques physico-chimiques (toxicité, réactivité…) et physiologiques peut présenter des risques pour l’homme, les biens et/ou l’environnement.
Ces marchandises peuvent être transportées sous forme liquide (ex : hydrocarbures) ou solide (ex : explosifs). Ces substances ont souvent une concentration et une agressivité supérieures à celles des usages domestiques.

Les principales conséquences engendrées par la survenue d’un accident lors du transport de marchandises dangereuses sont :
- un incendie
- un dégagement de nuage toxique
- une explosion
- une corrosion
- une pollution du sol et / ou des eaux


Les risques engendrés par le transport de matière dangereuse sont difficiles à appréhender précisément car par définition, c’est une activité circulante donc difficile à identifier, à localiser et à quantifier. On considère que ce risque est diffus car il est disséminé sur l’ensemble du territoire.
Le transport de marchandises dangereuses par route est le mode de transport le plus exposé aux accidents. Les causes sont diverses : faute de conduite du conducteur ou d’un tiers, mauvais état du véhicule, mauvais état des routes, météo défavorable…

  Fascicule des mesures de prévention et de secours